Shredded Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
This recipe may taste good, but the directions need to be more specific. I put 3 teaspoons of dry steak seasoning in the mix and ruined 3 lbs of meat. I am assuming now that the recipes calls for 3 teaspoons of liquid steak seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prentice, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
This recipe was pretty good! I had a 3 lb roast, so I tripled all the ingredients. I used McCormick's Montreal Steak Seasoning, and after 1 hour the beef seemed way too spicy and I wasn't sure I would make it again. However, after another hour, I snitched some as I was putting away leftovers and it was absolutely fabulous. The moral of the story is, the seasonings need more time to blend than 1 hour-10 minutes. I will definitely make again, but with that change. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I have made this numerous times leaving out the cumin and honey. It is very good. I also cut back on the steak seasoning because it makes it taste very salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I had a rump roast in the freezer and didnt know what to do with it so I came across this and decided to use it as a base... I took about 3 large garlic cloves and cut them in half I then made 3 cuts in the roast and put half a garlic clove in it, when I put the roast in the crock pot I used a cup of beef broth and also added a medium onion to it laying a couple strips of the onion on top of the roast and putting the remainder garlic under the roast, I set it on high and let it cook for 5 hours and anytime I would walk by the kitchen I would take the juice around the roast and pour it over the top of it, at the 5 hour mark it was really moist and i was able to pull it apart with no problem, after pulling it apart I then put it back into the crock pot and added about a tablespoon and a half of honey and then I used some remaining bbq sauce I had left over in the fridge, didnt have a lot but it was enough for the roast I then added a tiny bit more beef broth to the roast and some cumin I didnt measure how much I used I just kind of eyed it, I then let it cook on low for about an hour and a half, it turned out really good :) made the house smell fantastic my fiance kept asking when is it going to be done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
We loved this recipe! I didn't have steak seasoning in the house, but it was delicious without it. I used Sweet Baby Rays BBQ sauce, cause it's the best. Tastes like a shredded beef sandwich from a southern restaurant. The seasonings really add something and I won't ever make shredded beef sandwiches with just BBQ sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbruins79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waupun, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
What a great recipe! I made it for NY's day for a crowd, so I bought 6 lbs and meat and adjusted the ingredients accordingly. I also used Montreal Steak seasoning. There was a little too much liquid when it was done, but I just poured the extra away, no problem! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I made this without any changes at first. I liked it but it was a tad bit sweet for my taste so I added aobut 1/4 C more BBQ sauce and even the kids loved it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSBHAVENOKIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Harcourt, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
This is a definite "keeper"! I too found an increase in cooking time helped with the flavours. My husband's only complaint was that he had to smell it for so long before he could eat it! I put it in wraps with salad and sour cream. Delish! Hubby ate left-overs cold out of the tub (",)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Excellent. I had a larger roast so I used the recalculate feature and the seasonings were just right. I mixed all the seasonings together in the water and then poured it over the roast. Cooked it all day. Definitely a keeper. Next time I will use an even larger roast and freeze some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
THIS IS EASY TO FIX AND TAST GERAT AS WELL! THIS IS GREAT FOR ME SINCE I AM A NEW BRIDE! MY HUSBAND THINKS I CAN COOK NOW; THANKS TO THIS RECIPE!!! JOKE IS ON RAY! WITH OUT THIS WEB SITE HE WOULD BE EATING AT BURGER KING OR SOME PLACE LIKE THAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States