Shredded Beef Chimichangas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
These chimichangas take a while to prepare, but they are worth the effort! They are relatively cheep to make and are delicious! I served them to guests and they loved them! My husband is a mexican food maniac and he thoought they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
This is a wonderful, flavorful recipe! It will become standard fare for groups of 30 or less, (too much work to make for more.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
This was a family hit! It is very authentic tasting. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
The beef for this was very good. I cooked them as suggested in the oven, which was very good, but I think next time I will deep fry them, to give them a more authentic taste. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
Other than the time spent shredding the meat, this is an easy recipe that I make every month or so. My husband really likes this one, and it's one of a very few roast beef recipes I like also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2003
I have tried to get some "restaurant" tasting mexican recipes and this was fantastic! I had even gone to a cooking class for chimichangas and they were no where near as tasty as this recipe. I used chicken breast meat and chicken broth/boulion cube instead of the beef. My family loved it, even my picky eaters. We fried the chimichangas instead of baking, either way great flavor is great flavor any way you cook it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
This came out great, but I changed it up a bit. I used 2 pound of lean stew meat, and I was in a hurry, so I half defrosted it, then I put it in a skillet with a cups of water and some garlic cloves, and let that defrost some more until the water evaporated and it slightly browned. Then I put it in my crock pot with 2 cups of beef broth and the full amount of chili powder and more cumin than the recipe called for...about another half teaspoon more...and the red wine vinegar...left it on low for 8 hours. When I came home, all I had to do was stir it and it all fell apart, and the juice was absorbed, but it was not dry at all, it was still very juicy. I made chimichangas out of it, but it could totally be used for everything! Burritos, tacos, taquitos...I'm going to try it next with chicken, but the beef came out awesome...and because it was already cut up, there was no fat to mess with. My husband and I both really enjoyed it! You could also make machaca out of leftovers, if you have any! (Scrambled egg with beef)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
very good and easy to fix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
My family loves these and their so easy. But I cook the beef in a presure cooker It just falls apart in less then half the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BePark
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
The filling is delicious, and it's nice to have a change from ground beef. They're especially good with homemade tortillas. They're usually a little thicker and puff a little when you fry them, so it adds a little more body to the dish. My husband is a picky eater, even at restaraunts, and usually doesn't like shredded meat, so this was a fantastic find for our limited menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States