Shredded Beef Chimichangas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
These were amazing! I cooked the meat in the crockpot and added some onion and garlic powder. Turned out fantastic! My family absolutley loved these. I will definately make these on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Civil Twilight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Took forever to make and I wasn't crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohsewnostalgic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mena, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Aberdeen, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
okay, so I cheated, I used a different recipe for the beef, but still used the technique in this recipe and LOVED it! I didn't even miss that it wasn't fried! Can't wait to make this again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and my entire family loved it! The beef was so delicious and flavorful, it will definitely be eaten in our house again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Process is great, however the flavor needs improvement. Found via Food Network some additions that made the flavor jump into the meat: Remove cooled meat to separate bowl, saute 1/2 onion, chopped & 2 cloves garlic, minced in remaining meat juices and 1 T oil. When soft, return meat to pan. Add 2 chopped tomatoes (I used 1/2 can rotel) & 1/2 chopped bell pepper (I also added 2 jalapenos). Let simmer til meat is moist, not juicy. Remove from stove and assemble. I also added salt/pepper (since this recipe doesn't call for ANY). The meat is AWESOME. When assembling, I did add some shredded cheese, so we'll see how that comes out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
One of our favorites! All of us go back for more! I cook it differently, though... I put all ingredients (beef, water, broth, vinegar, chili powder, and cumin) in the croc pot in the morning and cook it on low for 8 hours so that it's ready by the end of the day. The meat turns out tender, juicy, wonderful! Thanks for the recipe... we us it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
VeryTasty, I added onion & garlic pouder and some hickory smoked jalipeno peppers that I dried, I skiped the first part and just put it in a crock pot on high for about 3 hrs. then on low for another 3 hrs. till the meat shreaded with 2 forks... It takes some time but it was better than any Mexican joint that we have gone to... Take the time and be creative when wraping, place some cheese in the center of a 10in. wraper top with meat no more than what the wraper will cover when you bring 1 edge over to center, rotate a little and fold top edge to center, repeat until you have a 5 sided peace. I brushed mine with spiced oil (EVOO chili garlic onion cumin pouders ect.) to taste and baked at 450 10-15 min. You can even finish on a grill insted of baking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rich from NY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Wonderful! I made these with leftover meat from a pork shoulder and added a can of green chilis. I had no idea that they could be this crispy from the oven, but they turned out perfect! Plus much less greasy than deep frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I would give this 10 stars if it was an option. This is a very good ,very tasty recipe and easy to make. I usually have leftovers so I use them to make quesadillas the next day! I get requsets for this recipe everytime I make it and best of all rav reviews! I do the whole recipe in my slow cooker and cook on high for a minimum of 5 hours, then shredd the meat and cook for another hour. I also finely chop an onion and 3 garlic cloves and add in at the beginning of cooking. Thnak you for sharing this, it has definately become one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hwiggins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buford, Georgia, USA
Living In: Latina, Lazio, Italy

Displaying results 81-90 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States