Shredded Beef Chimichangas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
try adding a can of green chillies (4 oz.) to the meat mixture after shredding for a nice boost to the mexican flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparwood, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
this was pretty bad, unable to cut through, hard for kids to chew up. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This was very good. Changed things but only because I found this recipe after The roast was already cooked. Used taco sesoning which is pretty much chili power and cumin anyway.The real treat was the cooking method for the shells. Was like they just came out of the deep fryer. Thanks for sharing this. We will have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Fantastic! I put all the ingredients in the slow cooker and added a little garlic because I love that flavor and when the meat was done I put the chimichangas in the oven. They were great baked. In a few I put black beans & meat and they came out fantastic too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TX Tigress
Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This was awesome.. I only gave 4 stars since I did change it a little since it needed more flavor. I browned the roast in a skillet. I cooked it in a slow cooker on High about 3 1/2 to 4 hrs. I followed the measurements exactly except I omitted the water.. it does not need it. Instead I pureed a can of Rotell & added it to the recipe. I also added a lil pinch of minced garlic & a 2 slices of minced onion. & 1 jalapeno pepper & (removed the seeds) I had to drain the meat it was a little watery... this was porbably from the Rotell so maybe next time i will drain it. The other change I did make was I added mexican blend cheese in the tortilla & added the meat rolled up like a chimichanga & stuck a tooth pick through them & used tongs to deep fry them. some Pepper Jack velveeta on top & poured enchilad sauce over & baked at 375 till melted! My hubby said it was the best thing he has ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Like "somethingdifferentagain?!" noted in her review, I also used just the process of the melted butter on the flour tortillas and baking in the oven on high heat. What a great idea! I used turkey, cilantro, both cheddar and Queso Fresco cheeses, and served these with fresh guacamole and Spanish rice. REALLY good, thanks. I'll be using this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Oh my - true goodness. The meat filling was great, but the true star of the show was something so simple as a tortilla buttered on both sides and baked at high heat. I will definitely make this again, although I will double the tortillas and use the same amount of meat filling. I used cheddar and melted it on top of the crispy shells for another minute or two in the oven. Any cheese would be great and I could definitely adapt this to chicken or pork, and try pepper jack or the Monterey this recipe called for. This recipe elicited as much pleasure as a really good steak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Super easy to make. I added refried beans to the torilla, then added the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
My family & I love the Mexican resturant, but it's 25 miles away. Chimichangas are my sons favorite. The ladies of my extended family spend a weekend each year together cooking and crafting. This years theme night was a Mexican Fiesta. This recipe was a hit with my guys when I did a trial run and it was a hit with my ladies. I kinda missed the crispy edges you get when they are deep fried and if you like it a little spicy, try adding a can of chopped green chilies. I used my slow cooker and the meat was tender and very flavorful. Even the older generation of ladies in my family that didn't know much about Mexican food enjoyed these smothered in cheese sauce, salsa and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
These are great as they are! I didn't change the recipe one bit and they were amazing! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mj_sakura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gunnison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States