Shredded Beef Chimichangas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I followed the recipe as stated. I believe that it should have you turn the heat lower after you add the beef broth and spices. I ended up having to add 2 cups more water to keep the meat from burning on Med. heat. I did not feel that the flavor was very Mexican. I believe that it needed more spice such as Mexican Oregano, Cilantro and additional Cumin. I did like the oven chimichanga part and felt that it was easier and healthier than frying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
My husband and I were not fans of these shredded beef chimichangas. He'll typically eat just about anything I make, and we both love tex-mex, but he specifically requested that this recipe get thrown out. The flavor of the beef was decent, but the recipe is just missing something. Baking the chimichangas left them tough and chewy, not crispy and crunchy. Perhaps with some cheese melted in with the beef they could be better, but I don't see myself ever using this recipe again and finding out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
My husband's actual quote was, "best new recipe of the year." I cooked my meat in a crockpot on high for 7 hours and put cheese inside the chimis before I put in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Excellent Recipe. It is alot of work though. I cooked the beef in a slow cooker and it was nice and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Not too bad. The meat didn't have as much flavor as I had anticipated. I used my pressure cooker to brown the meat and cooked it in the juices. If I make this again after cooking in the pressure cooker & shredding the meat I'd put everything in a pan and boil down the juices for a more concentrated flavor. I may use taco seasoning as some others had suggested along with mixing some of the cheese in with the meat before putting in the tortillas. Definately a work in process, but it does give you something to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I really liked this recipe, the only reason I am giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is because I will probably make some adjustments next time. When I made it this time I didn't add the vinegar at all. The next time I make this, I may be tempted to saute some green peppers and onions (from my garden) and throw that into the shredded beef. Also, next time I thought about adding the cheese to the shredded beef just before filling the burrito shell. I will probably use more cheese than I did this time. Other than that, it had an excellent flavor and my family devoured it. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Philadelphia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
This was just ok; don't think I would make it again. It is missing something but I'm not sure what. I ended up adding 1/2 of a burrito seasoning packet before serving to add a little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
This beef comes out so moist and tender, it just falls apart. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
So easy and so delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I can't say how good the meat portion of this recipe was:because I used leftover roast beef. But, I sure am glad someone recommended (on the Recipe Exchange), because I loved the mechanics of the recipe. I would have never thought of brushing tortillas w/ butter and cooking at a high temp to produce a crisp "wrapping"! I added Provolone to the inside and they turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States