Shredded Beef Chimichangas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Loved it... now if I could figure out the white cheese sauce they top it with at my favorite mexican joint they would loose a customer! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric McIntosh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
My family really liked these. They do need a green chili or something on them. I did put the meat and the broth all in the crockpot in the morning and about 3 in the afternoon I transferred it all to the stovetop, and boiled it down until the meat was still juicy but the liquid was all gone. The meat was tender but not dry. VERY good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika T. Clark

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Very good! I was nervous at first because I cooked my meat in the crock pot and it smelled awful for the whole 6 hours, but surprisingly, the end product was delicious!! I added refried beans to the tortillas with the meat and they were very filling. I don't think there's anything I can do about the smell, since I followed the ingredients to a T, but I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schuylerville, New York, USA
Living In: Greenwich, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Very easy and yummy! I used hamburger and added about 3/4 cup diced onion and 2 cloves of garlic to the meat. Great!! Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethel Springs, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yellowpairs ♥
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I feel bad even reviewing this because I pretty much changed everything. BUT the idea of a non fried shredded beef chimi was great! I pressure cooked my meat with jalapenos, poblanos, onion, garlic, beef broth, a little canola oil and red wine. I also added very small diced potatos after the meat was cooked. Instead of baking these, I just pan fried them in a little butter like you would a quesidilla. Thanks for the inspiration, great recipe, will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yellowpairs ♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I especially like baking these as opposed to frying them. Be careful they cook fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig J. Doucette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
We liked these! I had some left over beef roast that was way too salty, so I mixed in a can of beer, 1/2 pkg of taco seasoning, and some tomato sauce. Spooned into whole wheat tortillas, sprinkled about 1 Tbsp cheese, and then folded into pockets. I placed mine seam down on a greased jelly roll pan. I spooned melted butter only over the tops of the tortillas. It worked great! They baked at 500 degrees for more like 13-14 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4kidsinthehouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Very good. Added green chili's, garlic and onion for a little more flavor. Turned out nice and crunchy after baking, which is a better alternative to frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Enjoyed these very much. I had leftover shredded beef from ropa vieja recipe so the hardest part was brushing the butter on both sides of the tortilla. Which of course was not hard at all. Baked in the oven and turned over when bottom side browned to evenly brown both sides. I also put a tbs. or two of refried blackbeans in with the beef. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Was tender but extremely bland. Sorry I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Rehders

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lampasas, Texas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States