Shredded Beef Chimichangas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Very good! I was nervous at first because I cooked my meat in the crock pot and it smelled awful for the whole 6 hours, but surprisingly, the end product was delicious!! I added refried beans to the tortillas with the meat and they were very filling. I don't think there's anything I can do about the smell, since I followed the ingredients to a T, but I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schuylerville, New York, USA
Living In: Greenwich, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Very easy and yummy! I used hamburger and added about 3/4 cup diced onion and 2 cloves of garlic to the meat. Great!! Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethel Springs, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yellowpairs ♥
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I feel bad even reviewing this because I pretty much changed everything. BUT the idea of a non fried shredded beef chimi was great! I pressure cooked my meat with jalapenos, poblanos, onion, garlic, beef broth, a little canola oil and red wine. I also added very small diced potatos after the meat was cooked. Instead of baking these, I just pan fried them in a little butter like you would a quesidilla. Thanks for the inspiration, great recipe, will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yellowpairs ♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I especially like baking these as opposed to frying them. Be careful they cook fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
We liked these! I had some left over beef roast that was way too salty, so I mixed in a can of beer, 1/2 pkg of taco seasoning, and some tomato sauce. Spooned into whole wheat tortillas, sprinkled about 1 Tbsp cheese, and then folded into pockets. I placed mine seam down on a greased jelly roll pan. I spooned melted butter only over the tops of the tortillas. It worked great! They baked at 500 degrees for more like 13-14 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4kidsinthehouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Very good. Added green chili's, garlic and onion for a little more flavor. Turned out nice and crunchy after baking, which is a better alternative to frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Enjoyed these very much. I had leftover shredded beef from ropa vieja recipe so the hardest part was brushing the butter on both sides of the tortilla. Which of course was not hard at all. Baked in the oven and turned over when bottom side browned to evenly brown both sides. I also put a tbs. or two of refried blackbeans in with the beef. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Was tender but extremely bland. Sorry I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Bricker

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lampasas, Texas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
AWESOME! It was not as spicey as I suspected it would be and it was incredibly easy to make. So sad I only made half the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Blandon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This was good a bit on the dry side. I made this for a group of ninety last night. I had no complaints my personal opinion there was not very much zip to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States