Shredded Beef Chimichangas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I would give this 10 stars if it was an option. This is a very good ,very tasty recipe and easy to make. I usually have leftovers so I use them to make quesadillas the next day! I get requsets for this recipe everytime I make it and best of all rav reviews! I do the whole recipe in my slow cooker and cook on high for a minimum of 5 hours, then shredd the meat and cook for another hour. I also finely chop an onion and 3 garlic cloves and add in at the beginning of cooking. Thnak you for sharing this, it has definately become one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hwiggins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buford, Georgia, USA
Living In: Latina, Lazio, Italy
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
OMG! the best recipe ever! these thing were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
SOOOOOOO easy and soooooo good! Made thses for a friend and for little kids and they all loved them! I even made some with chicken and beans. You can truly stick anything in these babies and have a simple and yummy dinner for your family. Goes amazing with spanish rice as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I had left over brisket that I needed to use, and this was a great way. I loved that brushing the tortillas with butter and baking them produced such a crispy shell, without all of the grease of frying. Didn't lessen the fat count, but it didn't taste greasy at all. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Well, I had to make some modifications based on what ingredients I had on hand, but the end result was delicious. Earlier this week, I made the shredded beef in my slow cooker by sprinkling a packet of dry beefy onion soup mix over the roast and pouring about 1/2c water and 2-3 tablespoons BBQ sauce in with it. 6 hours on low and it was delicious just as it was for sandwiches. For the beans, I made my own refried beans by combining butter, salt, cumin, water, and black beans in a small saucepan and cooking till they turned into paste. I also made a white cheese sauce to top the chimis, by making a basic bechamel sauce and adding white cheddar cheese, salt, pepper, and paprika. These were FANTASTIC. My husband, who is not a fan of Mexican food, loved these when prepared this way. I love crispy chimichangas but usually when I get them in a restaurant, they are full of grease and I get a stomach ache after eating them. These had the same crunch as restaurant style chimis, without the grease. Excellent. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Very good! I made the meat in the slow cooker by putting the roast, broth, red wine vinegar, and spices (I added oregano and some ground ancho chilis) in all at once and then cooking for 8 hours on low. Skipped the first step of browning the meat. I did not brush the tortillas with melted butter to save on calories. Instead I assembled the chimichangas, then sprayed a little cooking spray on them. They crisped up beautifully. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I'll give this my husband's rating, although mine probably would have been 3 stars. If I make this again I'll use a little less chili powder and a little more cumin powder. I did as another reviewer did, and cooked the meat in a pressure cooker - really saved time with this. I also added cheese inside the chimichangas as well as on the outside. Maybe a sauce on top (other than salsa) would have made it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Nice and easy. My water never evaporated so I just poured it out before adding the seasoned liquid. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Loved it... now if I could figure out the white cheese sauce they top it with at my favorite mexican joint they would loose a customer! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
My family really liked these. They do need a green chili or something on them. I did put the meat and the broth all in the crockpot in the morning and about 3 in the afternoon I transferred it all to the stovetop, and boiled it down until the meat was still juicy but the liquid was all gone. The meat was tender but not dry. VERY good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika T. Clark

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States