Shredded Beef Chimichangas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
My family & I love the Mexican resturant, but it's 25 miles away. Chimichangas are my sons favorite. The ladies of my extended family spend a weekend each year together cooking and crafting. This years theme night was a Mexican Fiesta. This recipe was a hit with my guys when I did a trial run and it was a hit with my ladies. I kinda missed the crispy edges you get when they are deep fried and if you like it a little spicy, try adding a can of chopped green chilies. I used my slow cooker and the meat was tender and very flavorful. Even the older generation of ladies in my family that didn't know much about Mexican food enjoyed these smothered in cheese sauce, salsa and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
These are great as they are! I didn't change the recipe one bit and they were amazing! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mj_sakura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gunnison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Absolutely perfect, i did have to double the vinegar and the cumin to get the perfect amount of flavor though. Awesome Beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
These were amazing! I cooked the meat in the crockpot and added some onion and garlic powder. Turned out fantastic! My family absolutley loved these. I will definately make these on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Civil Twilight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Took forever to make and I wasn't crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohsewnostalgic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mena, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Aberdeen, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
okay, so I cheated, I used a different recipe for the beef, but still used the technique in this recipe and LOVED it! I didn't even miss that it wasn't fried! Can't wait to make this again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and my entire family loved it! The beef was so delicious and flavorful, it will definitely be eaten in our house again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Process is great, however the flavor needs improvement. Found via Food Network some additions that made the flavor jump into the meat: Remove cooled meat to separate bowl, saute 1/2 onion, chopped & 2 cloves garlic, minced in remaining meat juices and 1 T oil. When soft, return meat to pan. Add 2 chopped tomatoes (I used 1/2 can rotel) & 1/2 chopped bell pepper (I also added 2 jalapenos). Let simmer til meat is moist, not juicy. Remove from stove and assemble. I also added salt/pepper (since this recipe doesn't call for ANY). The meat is AWESOME. When assembling, I did add some shredded cheese, so we'll see how that comes out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
One of our favorites! All of us go back for more! I cook it differently, though... I put all ingredients (beef, water, broth, vinegar, chili powder, and cumin) in the croc pot in the morning and cook it on low for 8 hours so that it's ready by the end of the day. The meat turns out tender, juicy, wonderful! Thanks for the recipe... we us it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States