Shredded Apple Spelt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Great way to use up some apples! My daughter loved it and it lasted a week, stayed moist and was a great afternoon snack for the whole family. I added another egg as I also didn't have xanthan gum, and it was cooked after 30 min in my oven. I also substituted the white sugar for brown and the olive oil for vegetable. Definitely making it again. For a more indulgent version I think some coconut cream cheese icing would be divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Fabulous! Made this recipe as directed except instead of shredding the apples I just coarsely cut them. Very moist and delicious! However, I only baked it for 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Love this recipe. Spelt flour gives it a wonderful nutty flavor. I used 3 eggs as suggested and didn't have xanthum gum so added an extra 1/2 c whole wheat flour. I was looking for something to use up some apple cider that had started fermenting and it worked great. I baked it for 30 min on 400 then 15 min at 350. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAPPYPUP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharon
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I was very excited to find this healthy recipe for apple cake with spelt, exactly what I was looking for, for my very first adventure into baking with spelt-instead-of-wheat! It turned out pretty good, but a little too wet for my taste. The recipe calls for 5 apples, and I used medium sized apples. When I turned out the cake, it felt still too wet, although the batter was cooked, which I think is an indication of too much apple in the recipe. I'd recommend only 4 apples, to get a cake that's a little more cake-with-apple and a little less like baked apples with a little cake around them. A few changes: I never find it necessary to peel apples -- I just processed UNpeeled apple chunks instead of labor-intensive peeling and grating; I added more than a cup of chopped pecans (could also have used walnuts) because I love apple and nut together; I used 1/2 C brown sugar instead of the white sugar; and did half fresh lemon juice and half OJ, instead of all OJ. At half an hour, the cake had risen beautifully and looked done on top, but definitely wasn't ready inside (checked with toothpick). However, 45 min. seemed more than enough: done inside, with the top looking very brown. Next time I'll try doing the first 20 min. at 400F (200C) and then reduce heat to 350F (180C) until it's done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This NEVER baked through for me. I gave it over 2 hours in the oven and even though the batter looked fine when I panned it, it stayed batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummySmells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I had to make some substitutions, but I can tell that this cake would be fantastic if made as the recipe says. Just for others out there: I had no xantham gum, and only 1/4 cup vegetable oil. So I subbed half applesauce, half oil, and I also didn't have raw apples on hand. Only the dehydrated that you buy through the LDS cannery. I used the food processor on them, and added an extra egg (size medium), also used apple juice instead of orange...This turned out like a moist sponge cake. It was flat due to not having a bundt cake pan, but I thought it was a nice treat :) First time baking with spelt. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Good flavor and texture, though I didn't bake for 60 minutes. After about 30, I turned my temp down to 350. The orange juice flavor was a bit strong, but I used fresh squeezed and that could be why. Over all, good cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This was pretty easy to make. I made a few non-vital changes to the recipe. Rather than shredding the apples, I chopped them up between coarse and fine in my food processor; much quicker than shredding! I used flaxseed rather than olive oil and pineapple rather than orange juice, as that was all I had. I used wholemeal spelt flour instead of white. As I didn't have xanthan gum, I subbed half a cup of strong regular wholewheat flour to give it some gluten to help it stick together. A couple of comments. My cake needed nowhere near an hour to bake. I checked it about half an hour in and it was done! I don't know if using wholewheat flour prevented it from rising much or if that is just the nature of the cake. It wasn't too heavy, just dense. I might try it with 3 eggs next time (mine were only medium size anyways). It is very flavoursome and moist, so it's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I made this recipe primarily cause it was wheat free. It was delicious and very moist, unlike most wheat free stuff. Once it cooled slightly, it came out of the pan with no problems and I had to dig into it right way as the smell of it is amazing. What I did was cut it up ready to serve and then I mixed some icing sugar and milk together, to create a very watered down icing to pour overtop, to finish it off. So very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States