Shredded Apple Carrot Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I didn't have fresh parsley, so I used about 1 T of fresh chopped cilantro. I also used olive oil. Other than those two substitutions, I followed the recipe. My husband and I thought the salad was delicious. It is good with or without the sesame seeds. I tasted the salad before I added them, and I think I liked it better. My husband likes it with them--it adds an Asian zing--so you can't go wrong either way. I will be making this salad often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Lyons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
When eating pepper and garlic in an apple salad, this takes some getting used to! I liked this because it was not sweet, and the tang of the lemon and vinegar came out! I didn't have parsley, so used a bit of green pepper for an accent color. When pumpkins are in season, this will be wonderful to replace the carrots with pumpkin! This is a great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Yummy & tangy. A great side dish. The only change that I made was that I did not have any safflower oil handy; used olive oil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Tried it today exactly as the recipe went - with both vinegar, granny smith and lemon it was a little heavy on the acids for my taste. Next time I'll try some sweet apple and half the lemon or vinegar to see how I like it. The recipe is well worth trying just to be amazed of how much punch the tiny tiny sesame seeds contributes tho ;D I was very surprised, and pleasantly so. Remember to roast them for the full experience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kristiansand, Vest-Agder, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I bought, but then forgot to put in the sesame seeds. Other than that, I made the recipe exactly as written. It was much too tart for my taste. If I ever make it again, I would definitely use a sweet apple, and reduce the amount of lemon juice and vinegar. The salad was easy to prepare, and very appealing visually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
This is one of those Why Didn't I Think of This? recipes. Not all that complicated, uses ingredients that, just from reading the list, you KNOW will be fabulous together, but you'd never tried it till you saw it somewhere. THANK YOU for being the one to think of it! I didn't have Granny Smiths, which tend to be huge, so I used two Pink Lady apples, instead. And I pretty much use olive oil for everything, so, of course, used that instead of safflower, along with the dried parsley I go through by the bushel. I loved it so much that when I moved it from the tossing bowl to the serving bowl, I grabbed a spoon to snarf up the last of the shredded goodness and the juices that had mixed with the dressing. Served with sautéed shrimp and quinoa with a little EVOO and balsamic vinegar, with chopped almonds and dried cranberries. SUCH a lovely, easy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
super super super awesome!! the sesame seeds add a great touch to the salad!! loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isa Kiehnle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I made this for the first time but I had put raisins in it and added the apples and OMG,everyday it taste better,we had enough for 3 days. What a cool side or just something to eat on. Will be making this again today but I'm not telling anyone this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I made this yesterday. Decided to double it as it didn't seem to make a lot. I didn't have fresh basil so left it out. I also used olive oil instead of safflower and a regular apple (I think a Braeburn) instead of a Granny Smith. I took the suggestion of another reviewer and didn't shred the apple or carrots--instead I used a vegetable peeler and made "ribbons." The dressing completely overwhelmed the apples and carrots. I think the concept is good but it would be better if the apples were finely diced; maybe do the same with the carrots; cut the dressing in half; maybe add some craisins, raisins, or other dried fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Very tasty, really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manicmusicianbp

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States