Shredded Apple Carrot Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
When eating pepper and garlic in an apple salad, this takes some getting used to! I liked this because it was not sweet, and the tang of the lemon and vinegar came out! I didn't have parsley, so used a bit of green pepper for an accent color. When pumpkins are in season, this will be wonderful to replace the carrots with pumpkin! This is a great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Delicious! I was pleasantly surprised. Big improvement over the usual super sweet varieties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I didn't have fresh parsley, so I used about 1 T of fresh chopped cilantro. I also used olive oil. Other than those two substitutions, I followed the recipe. My husband and I thought the salad was delicious. It is good with or without the sesame seeds. I tasted the salad before I added them, and I think I liked it better. My husband likes it with them--it adds an Asian zing--so you can't go wrong either way. I will be making this salad often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Lyons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
super super super awesome!! the sesame seeds add a great touch to the salad!! loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isa Kiehnle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Tried it today exactly as the recipe went - with both vinegar, granny smith and lemon it was a little heavy on the acids for my taste. Next time I'll try some sweet apple and half the lemon or vinegar to see how I like it. The recipe is well worth trying just to be amazed of how much punch the tiny tiny sesame seeds contributes tho ;D I was very surprised, and pleasantly so. Remember to roast them for the full experience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kristiansand, Vest-Agder, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Yummy & tangy. A great side dish. The only change that I made was that I did not have any safflower oil handy; used olive oil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I made this for the first time but I had put raisins in it and added the apples and OMG,everyday it taste better,we had enough for 3 days. What a cool side or just something to eat on. Will be making this again today but I'm not telling anyone this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
This is one of those Why Didn't I Think of This? recipes. Not all that complicated, uses ingredients that, just from reading the list, you KNOW will be fabulous together, but you'd never tried it till you saw it somewhere. THANK YOU for being the one to think of it! I didn't have Granny Smiths, which tend to be huge, so I used two Pink Lady apples, instead. And I pretty much use olive oil for everything, so, of course, used that instead of safflower, along with the dried parsley I go through by the bushel. I loved it so much that when I moved it from the tossing bowl to the serving bowl, I grabbed a spoon to snarf up the last of the shredded goodness and the juices that had mixed with the dressing. Served with sautéed shrimp and quinoa with a little EVOO and balsamic vinegar, with chopped almonds and dried cranberries. SUCH a lovely, easy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This salad has a distinctive, almost meaty taste, much different from the sweetness that I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
It's too vinegar-y for me. I used a potato peeler and made ribbons of carrot and ribbons of apple. It was beautiful in presentation but only one out of five of us actually liked it. I did sub EVOO for the safflower oil but that was the only substitution I made. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States