Shoyu Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This is such a great recipe! I tenderized my chicken first, and cook it on my George Foreman grill. The chicken gets almost a crust on it... It's wonderful. I don't keep fresh oregano or ginger root. So I use Italian seasoning and ground ginger. Its a weekly dinner at my house, I'm so glad I found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
We really liked this. My husband isn't a big fan of black pepper so next time I'll use much less or white pepper instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Yum! I modified the recipe a little and used 1 cup of pineapple juice instead of 1/2 cup of water (6 servings) and cooked it in a dutch oven for about an hour. I did not marinate the chicken as there was really no need. I also browned the chicken thighs a little in oil before adding the "sauce" ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I made this last night with one exception. Didn't have any soy sauce so I substituted Worcester, it was delicious! My husband who doesn't like chicken said it was "pretty good." Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I used boneless thighs. This was scrumptious. Definitely a do again recipe. I love easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Scaled the recipe to 8 for 3 pounds chicken. Replaced water with pineapple juice. I only used 1/3 of the spices (cayanne and red pepper) because I was afraid it would be too spicy. It was just right. Served this chopped in lettuce wraps. Also marinated 24 hours and baked it in the marinade for 45 minutes. Topped the lettuce wraps with pickled cucumbers and shredded carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
We really loved this marinade on our chicken thighs! Grilling the meat creates a nice caramelized/sticky coating on the chicken, making it super yummy! I didn't expect to like this marinade as much as we did--definitely going to be repeated in our house often. Also, the leftovers taste just as yummy the next day! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I think the hubby might leave me if I did not add this to our permanent cookbook. I think it needs half or only 1/3 the amount of black pepper (and a little less ginger because I'm not a fan) but this was so delicious following the recipe exactly otherwise. Marinated overnight - the chicken was stained beautifully the next day so clearly the marinade took! Don't throw away that delicious marinade! Strained the leftover marinade and pulled out the onions; cooked it down with the onions to make a sauce. Served it with steamed broccoli (steamed then caramelized in a few spoonfuls of the marinade), and brown rice with a bit of the sauce. It was a PERFECT meal. If I wasn't already married, I would have been proposed to after this meal (he's still talking about it)...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
We are not teriyaki fans, but we really enjoyed this. I boiled two frozen breasts in the sauce for about 30 minutes and then finished them off in the oven while I let the sauce reduce. Served over quinoa and broccoli. My 16 month old could not get enough broccoli because it was covered in sauce, bonus! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This is a winner! I marinated it for a day & we loved the flavors. Served it with rice & potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 21-30 (of 458) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States