Shoyu Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I loved this!! I'm big on ginger, so next time I'll add more, but otherwise, wonderful! Will definitely do again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Great on the grill! Marinate over night for the full flavor effect. A BBQ hit with everyone at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
My family loves this recipe! Definitely has a kick but so yummy. If you like spicy food but can't handle a lot of spice, I suggest a subtle side dish like white rice or baked potatoe. I've also made with bone-in thighs and cut off the skin with my kitchen shears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I only had 4 fairly large chicken thighs (2 lbs) so I cut the marinade in half. I let them marinade all day. Not sure what the onion added but these were absolutely delicious. Granddaughter and I cooked them on the gas grill. They were delicious. They do have a little "kick" so if you don't like spicy, leave out the red pepper. I think next time I'll use pineapple juice in place of the water. I will cook these many more times. UPDATE: I have made this recipe over and over. The biggest challenge is planning ahead for the time to marinade. Last few times I mince the onion instead of chopping and that seems to work better. I also add a little more fresh ginger. This is one of my favorite chicken recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Liked the flavor if the sauce, but hated the texture of the thighs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I love this recipe! I have made a similar version (without a true recipe) for years, but have used it as the sauce for a stir fry, which pairs well with either chicken or beef. People often ask how I make it and are surprised at its simplicity. I do, however, make two slight changes so that family members who must limit their intake of sugar/sodium can enjoy the recipe as well. First, I use low sodium soy sauce and, second, I substitute Cary's Sugar Free Syrup (to desired sweetness) in place of the brown sugar. (Cary's Sugar Free Syrup can be found in the pancake syrup section of the supermarket.) Even with these modifications, the recipe turns out delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I lived in Hawaii for 10 years and shoyu chicken was a staple dish that we ate every week. This recipe can hold its own against any chicken I ate all those years! I add sesame seeds and slightly more sugar to mine to make it more 'island like'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
When I go up to visit my family I cook dinner for them. This caught my eye and glad we tried it! It was pouring outside and they did not have cover fur BBQ. We baked in oven and they loved it. Were eating leftovers ( I had doubled the amount called for the number of people showing up) before leaving on their fishing trip. Very, very easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I agree with yumyum, this deserves more than 5 stars. This is so good. I use boneless skinless breasts and I like to slice them in half and make them just thinner so they absorb all the flavor, it is soooooooo good. I have made this multiple times and everyone that I have made it for loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nani22
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This recipe is awesome.. Japanese shoyu chicken simple , easy but the taste is so good. My friend love it. although I didnt grilled it coz i dont have bbq grilled instead i bake and grill in the oven and i made it perfectly. When i serve as a main dish for dinner to my friend they think i grilled it but i said nope i bake it with his own sauce and i didnt expect the shoyu chicken will more saucy and yummy ever i made. It was my first time to try this recipe, it was easy and i cant imagine that they really love it and they really want to try this to their home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 514) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States