Shoyu Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Loved it. Threw a can of pineapple chunks in the marinade and let it sit overnight. I also thickened the leftover marinade with cornstarch as some of the other reviews suggested. Brushed it on while grilling. Amazing. Served it with "Sweet Corn Cake" and"Hawaiian Mac Salad".... both recipes from this site. My 8 year old son asked why I'm not a "professional cooker" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
The BEST chicken for the grill!! Used chicken breasts and let 'marry' for about 30 hours. Cut back on the water, soy sauce and brown sugar,but keep the spices the same.Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This was good. I only added 1/2 cup soy sauce but made it as is otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Marinated it for 3 hours but used a whole chicken cut up in pieces. Skin on and I think that helped. Grilled indirect for 35 min and then direct heat 10 more. We ate it so fast forgot to get a picture. Had a few pieces left over so may take a picture. Skin did "blacken" in the direct gas flame. I think the same marinade without the Oregano would work with pork ribs. Will definitely do it again in some form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Fischer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I marinated this overnight and then with a little olive oil browned the chicken then added the rest of the marinade and cooked slowly until tender and done. Luckily for me I omitted the hot pepper flakes and used less cayenne pepper than called for and to us it was so flavorful but still a little too hot. Could be because I marinated it so long. Next time I will add even less cayenne. It is a very good recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoflorida

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Excellent!!!! Loved. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
A little overpowering with soy and brown sugar but it is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Yummy. Serve with rice and fresh pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
If you replace the shoyu sauce with fruit punch concentrate it makes a less salty yet still a hawaiian taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 462) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States