Shortcut Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
It was quite different than canned, but it worked well. I cooked mine much less than fifteen minutes - it was already quite thick after only a few minutes. Kinda funny - I used black beans and with the salsa added, my refried beans were purple! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I was just looking at the recipes for refried beans a little amused at the thought of a recipe for this. I always thought everyone knew how to make refried beans. I have to admit I have found some new ideas I hadn't thought of before. Then I found this particular recipe. I was so excited I had to try it out right away never mind that dinner is already done and eaten. I am truly hoping that this will turn out great. It would be great when I am short on beans and someone drops in. If it turns out I will be sure to share it with all of my friends and relatives. Although the beans are not done yet they are not grainy. I think the problem for the cook who said the beans just would not get done is old beans. Old beans will not cook up well. Try buying the beans at a store that has a high turnover rate.An area with a high Mexican population would be good especially at a Mexican store. They turned out great. I will definitly use this again. Try adding a small amount of garlic and onion for even more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendota, Illinois, USA
Living In: Centralia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I thought the idea would be a great shortcut to making refried beans, but it turned out pasty, plain and really awful tasting. I would rather use canned pinto beans and if I didn't have them on hand, too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
The beans came out crunchy and had a strange consistency. I liked the idea, but next time I will do them the long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
GREAT time saver, thanks! Much healthier and cheaper than buying the canned refried beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I don't know exactly what happened, but it did not turn out. It was tasty, but after an hour of simmering, it was still grittily undercooked. I can only think of two reasons why it didn't turn out: 1) I did not grind the beans finely enough 2) I added the salt with all of the other ingredients. I had heard not to do it in previous recipes... I have a *ton* of beans and probably will try it again, only with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by (ME)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
This recipe is awesome. I am a bit of a salt aholic so I doubled the salt. After tasting this the first time I decided I wanted to have this on hand. I made a bulk batch, here it is: (9 cups of bean flour, 3 TBSP salt(I used 6), 3 TBSP ground cumin and 3 TBSP chili powder. Stir until well blended and store. Preparation instructions: place 1 1/2 cup bean flour and 3 1/4 cups of water into a medium sauce pan. Bring mixture to a boil over medium heat and cook until thick about 15 minutes. When desired consistency remove from heat and add 1 cup salsa, stir and serve. Yield approx 3 cups. When I use this to make bean dip, I also chop up pickled jalapenos into it as well as a little of the jalapeno juice. Yummy! Thank you so much for this time saving, tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
A nice substitue for the real thing, the kids don't know the difference. I would use a little less cumin next time (1/4 tsp), just for our taste preferences, but over all a fast and easy way to use those dried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
I decided to disregard a review that told me nothing (Not good, wasn't working... Because...?? What's the point?), tried it and it worked great for me in particular! I've made it many times, always testing as I go and depending on my mood, I adjust the heat by using "mild/medium or hot" salsa which is key to if it would be bland or spicy, those spices count. Great technique for me so I can keep dried beans stored yet still get a fix for a sudden craving! It's a technique with dried beans you could use in many more circumstances. I just cooked until thick - on my particular stove, that was 20 minutes. As many stoves, salsas and beans and quality of spices as there are in the world, try to be fair or informative regarding recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
Not Good. Half way through preparing dinner I realized that the beans were not working and sent my son to the store for a can of refried beans. I do not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States