Shortcut Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
The method certainly works but the outcome was grainy refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I forgot to soak my beans so I decided to give this a try because I really didn't want to used canned. Next time, I'll go get canned. I ground up my beans in a Ninja until they were almost powder. My beans came out looking like oatmeal. I added more water and cooked longer to no avail. I finally put the cooked beans back into the food processor for another whirl since they were softer but that didn't help either. These came out gritty. My boyfriend raves about everything I cook even when I don't think it turned out so well. Neither of us finished our servings. It was like eating refried beans mixed with sand. Not a good combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I made this according to the directions and was not impressed with how it turned out. The beans, although ground, were still crunchy after 25 minutes. They also had almost no flavor. It was slightly better after adding salsa, but I doubt I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Was really gritty...but might have been my grinder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I didn't have time to use dried beans so I just used canned pinto beans instead. As is, the recipe is very basic and bland. But it did give me the starting point. I added minced garlic and minced onion as well for added flavor. It was a bit watery ((as I did not drain the beans)) but I simmered them with the seasonings and drained a bit before mashing them. I think they turned out just fine. My husband asked if I did something different but didn't explain any further....good "in a pinch" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D89BUTTONS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Grain Valley, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I wanted to like this recipe because it is so easy. It's edible, and maybe a little better than canned, but by no means tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
quick, easy and yummy recipe that lets you control the nutritional value of the dish. Canned beans contain salt and lard - this recipe makes "refried" beans in a jiffy. I add minced onion, cumin, and a can of green chilis when I make them. Thanks for the recipe ACHOCOCAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NUTFISH1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I have to be honest...it looks like baby food. BUT...it has a really good taste. For a shortcut recipe, I would make them again. I had a problem with them being chunky, but I put them in the grinder after cooking for a while and they turned out alot better. I also added a bit more seasoning. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Essex, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
My family LOVED this recipe! I would suggest to grind up the beans as fine as possible. I personally used my coffee grinder and it worked great!!! It was a wonderful dip and was soooo yummy on our soft tacos. I can't wait to take this to a family dinner! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Very good, but instead of putting dried beans in the food processor, I added cooked pinto beans and just doubled the amount called for in the recipe. My 18-month-old nephew loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States