Shortcut Potato Onion Perogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I would never dare put instant potatoes in perogies (my grandmother would roll in her grave!) but this dough is pretty good. I've always had to almost double the water and I find that placing a warm, damp tea towel over the bowl while it rests helps with the toughness. I'm going to try tinkering with this some more. Will post an update (or an entirely different recipe) if I find something that works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Whitemouth, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
this is a great recipe, but I like to either fry mine or bake them, I put them on a plate of rice and topped with cheese and onions and lettuce and tomatoes with sour cream. that good. I love these things
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Love the dough, very easy to make.I make a variation of this. I use the dough, but fill it with diced fried potatoes with garlic and onion, scrambled sausage and eggs, and add a little cheese. Then deep fry. and put in the frezer. My kids then heat them in the microwave and there's breakfeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Had some trouble with the dough. I might try to find a different recipe for it. Other than that it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KristinLilly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Dough was very hard to work with in comparison to other recipes. Filling was slightly lack-lustre. I suppose that's what happens when you take the short-cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
made dough in food processor and it turned out excellent. Added Flour salt and better and ran until mixed through. Added water then ran 5 minutes and put it all in a bowl and made it into a ball and let it rest. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Not bad!!!! Needed a little extra water for the dough. Used leftover ham and shredded cheese and real mashed potatoes. Yummy! Made them at a friend's house,who had never heard of them, they were a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meljeanand

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This was really good, great dough and with instant mashed potatoes it is exactily like store bought. I can't wait to try with real mashed potatoes. I also added some ranch to the recipe and some cheddar for maximum yumminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Not bad...used real mashed potatoes. Taste was ok but dough was missing something..to much work in my opinion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This recipe was fantastic. We started the recipe and decided that we wanted to add some sour cream to the dough, so added about 2 teaspoons to the dough. After rolling out to 1/4 inch and cutting out the circles, I rolled each 3 1/2" circle out to about 6 inches, then filled them and sealed them. Then boiled them and sauteed in a pan. They were great. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States