Shortcut Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I made this for my club meeting and there wasn't a crumb left. BUT I made it in a 13x9x2" baking pan and baked it for 40 minutes in a 350 degree oven. When the cake was thoroly cooled, I topped it with 2/3rds of the Cool-whip mixture. I used the balance of the topping for dipping fresh strawberried, slices of apples, nectarines and peaches...yummy!! Many thanks for sharing this great recipe with us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I jus made this recipe for my sisters birthday it was a huge hit.However i substituded the pinapple juice for orange juice. And i didnt add pecans or the cool whip. It was perfectly moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This was incredible!! I made it for my 3 year old sons birthday party, and it was incredible how many compliments I got. I also got a lot of "make me one of these cakes please!". So hands down way better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
You couldn't make a tastier carrot cake and it's SO simple! I only had half the pecan pieces called for and divided them between the batter and topping the cake. It looked pretty and we didn't miss the other half a cup at all. I also skipped the whipped topping and the icing was scruptious. I baked two 8" rounds for about 30 minutes. Forgot to mention that I used the pineapple juice as part of the water called for in the cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Very easy recipe. I made this toddler-friendly by substituting the oil for pureed carrots (leftover homemade baby food) and used pineapple juice instead of water. I omitted the nuts, and halved the frosting recipe (also added a touch of cinnamon)- worked great for 30 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by trishdadish
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I made a carrot today for my sisters b-day dinner tonight (carrot cake is her favorite) I used this as a guide somewhat as it was the only recipe I could find made with a box mix, I used a store bought carrot cake mix,substituted some of the pineapple juice for some of the water in the cake recipe,added shredded coconut and used walnuts instead of pecans, & less shredded carrots, my cream cheese frosting was butter, cream cheese, confectioners sugar & vanilla, then I decorated it with fine ground walnuts & "carrots" made from frosting that i dyed orange & green used a baggie with a corner snipped. It looks pretty & I am sure it will taste just as good as it looks!(see photo) I'm giving a 5 star rating to myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Great, quick carrot cake! I added some raisins and a handlful of shredded coconut. I also opted for the traditional cream cheese frosting because many have said that is what makes carrot cake. You cannot tell this was not made from scratch. I have cupcakes out of this too and piped the frosting and they were pretty as well as delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States