Shortcut Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Great, quick carrot cake! I added some raisins and a handlful of shredded coconut. I also opted for the traditional cream cheese frosting because many have said that is what makes carrot cake. You cannot tell this was not made from scratch. I have cupcakes out of this too and piped the frosting and they were pretty as well as delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by trishdadish
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I made a carrot today for my sisters b-day dinner tonight (carrot cake is her favorite) I used this as a guide somewhat as it was the only recipe I could find made with a box mix, I used a store bought carrot cake mix,substituted some of the pineapple juice for some of the water in the cake recipe,added shredded coconut and used walnuts instead of pecans, & less shredded carrots, my cream cheese frosting was butter, cream cheese, confectioners sugar & vanilla, then I decorated it with fine ground walnuts & "carrots" made from frosting that i dyed orange & green used a baggie with a corner snipped. It looks pretty & I am sure it will taste just as good as it looks!(see photo) I'm giving a 5 star rating to myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Very easy recipe. I made this toddler-friendly by substituting the oil for pureed carrots (leftover homemade baby food) and used pineapple juice instead of water. I omitted the nuts, and halved the frosting recipe (also added a touch of cinnamon)- worked great for 30 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
You couldn't make a tastier carrot cake and it's SO simple! I only had half the pecan pieces called for and divided them between the batter and topping the cake. It looked pretty and we didn't miss the other half a cup at all. I also skipped the whipped topping and the icing was scruptious. I baked two 8" rounds for about 30 minutes. Forgot to mention that I used the pineapple juice as part of the water called for in the cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This was incredible!! I made it for my 3 year old sons birthday party, and it was incredible how many compliments I got. I also got a lot of "make me one of these cakes please!". So hands down way better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I jus made this recipe for my sisters birthday it was a huge hit.However i substituded the pinapple juice for orange juice. And i didnt add pecans or the cool whip. It was perfectly moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I made this for my club meeting and there wasn't a crumb left. BUT I made it in a 13x9x2" baking pan and baked it for 40 minutes in a 350 degree oven. When the cake was thoroly cooled, I topped it with 2/3rds of the Cool-whip mixture. I used the balance of the topping for dipping fresh strawberried, slices of apples, nectarines and peaches...yummy!! Many thanks for sharing this great recipe with us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States