Shortbread Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I've never made shortbread before and this was INCREDIBLY easy and very delicious. The dough was easy to handle but I just dropped them onto the cookie sheet. Thanks. Thanks. & more thanks. Even the batter is very good tasting. Will DEFINITELY make them again. Have emailed this recipe to my sister too. NOT disappointed. I agree, Christmas only, large quantities. Out of 10, how about an 11. The only thing I disliked was not the taste (to die for) was that some of the cookies were too crumbly when I took them off the sheet and they broke apart too easily so they were not a complete cookie, at least, not all of them. But, hey, I'm diabetic so I get a slight taste without raising my sugar too high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
You can't ask for a dough to come together any faster. However, I tried using cold butter like another reviewer suggested. I'm not sure how that would ever work. I just ended up flinging tiny cubes of butter all over my counter. No problem, I just put the whole bowl in the microwave for 20 seconds. Then it fluffed up just fine. I added the zest of two lemons and 1 teaspoon of lemon extract. After baking just until they barely started to brown on the bottom, I put them face down in powered sugar while still hot. That melts on a thin layer of the sugar. I think they look nice that way, taste fantastic and I think it helps keep them soft. Who doesn't love a tastey recipe with only 3 ingredients! For those who think they come out plain, think of them as a blank canvas. Add what sounds good to you. Next time I think I'll do a cinnamon pecan shortbread. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Very easy to make and taste great! I made them with Sugar Cookie Icing and that made them irresistible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmVzc2ll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
We patted this dough into a tart pan as the base for a fruit pizza. It was just right for most of my guests but I thought it was a bit bland. I think needing a better quality butter might have been my problem
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alysha Meeks
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
For some reason, when I cooked these for the listed minimum of 12 minutes, they were burnt and crispy. That was my fault, though, I thought I could leave for a few minutes and when I came back they'd be done. Next time I bake these I'll make sure I watch the stove!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alysha Meeks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kawartha Lakes, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Fantastic recipe. I beat the butter for about five minutes before adding the sugar, then another eight minutes or so with the sugar added. I did end up poking holes in the shortbread with the end of a spoon and then adding some jam before cooking them, which was a lovely addition; but all on its own, this recipe produces a wonderful, not-too-sweet shortbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SwedePotato
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
These were awesome! I sprinkled colored sugar on these after cutting them out but they would be equally delicious with some frosting which I will definately try. They held up well to cookie cutters especially after putting in the freezer for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwedePotato
Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
These are soooo good and super easy to make! Thanks for sharing this recipe! P.S. Make sure you press the dough really hard and flatten it before rolling it out because it's impossible to handle the dough when crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
These are the measurements I used in Scotland, where I lived for fifteen years. Simple recipes are the best and this remains the most authentic recipe on the site. Just remember TWO flour, ONE butter, HALF sugar. Easy. DELICIOUS OPTION: This recipe is very robust and can stand up to a little messing about. Feel free to throw in a small handful of raisins or chocolate chips when adding the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedeeaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I had a recipe for shortbreqad handed down through the family, but this was so much easier and took half the time! I also added a bit more sugar and about a 1/4 cup more sugar. My family ate almost all of them in one night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Chef John's Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

These cookies are perfect for tea time or frankly, any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States