Shortbread Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Alysha Meeks
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
For some reason, when I cooked these for the listed minimum of 12 minutes, they were burnt and crispy. That was my fault, though, I thought I could leave for a few minutes and when I came back they'd be done. Next time I bake these I'll make sure I watch the stove!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alysha Meeks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kawartha Lakes, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Fantastic recipe. I beat the butter for about five minutes before adding the sugar, then another eight minutes or so with the sugar added. I did end up poking holes in the shortbread with the end of a spoon and then adding some jam before cooking them, which was a lovely addition; but all on its own, this recipe produces a wonderful, not-too-sweet shortbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SwedePotato
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
These were awesome! I sprinkled colored sugar on these after cutting them out but they would be equally delicious with some frosting which I will definately try. They held up well to cookie cutters especially after putting in the freezer for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwedePotato
Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
These are soooo good and super easy to make! Thanks for sharing this recipe! P.S. Make sure you press the dough really hard and flatten it before rolling it out because it's impossible to handle the dough when crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
These are the measurements I used in Scotland, where I lived for fifteen years. Simple recipes are the best and this remains the most authentic recipe on the site. Just remember TWO flour, ONE butter, HALF sugar. Easy. DELICIOUS OPTION: This recipe is very robust and can stand up to a little messing about. Feel free to throw in a small handful of raisins or chocolate chips when adding the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedeeaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I had a recipe for shortbreqad handed down through the family, but this was so much easier and took half the time! I also added a bit more sugar and about a 1/4 cup more sugar. My family ate almost all of them in one night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This was a tasty and easy recipe. I will say, if you are using butter make sure it is softened slighly when beating with the sugar. otherwise it will stick in the beaters. I found the best way to cook these was in the top part of the oven for 11 minutes. I used cookie cutters and decorated with a little icing sugar with water and vanilla extract, and sprinkles. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Flat and flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I just finished trying this recipe and have got to say that it is my new 'go to' cookie recipe. I used confectioners sugar instead of white, (I added 1/4 cup more for a little extra sweetness) added a tablespoon of vanilla, and replaced a tablespoon of flour for corn starch. I did not need to refrigerate the dough, in fact I used a little less of the flour mixture and rolled up 1 inch balls and placed them on the cookie sheet. Then I flattened them with a fork, pushed a little hole in the middle and filled them with jam. mmmmmmm yummmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
My new favorite cookie recipe. This is great if you want to make iced cookies quickly. (Which I did!) No chill time for the dough, and the cookies come out light and buttery. They weren't too sweet either, so the frosting was a nice addition, rather than too much sugar. I will say that I have tried this with Land O Lakes margarine and it worked almost as well as butter, but try it with butter first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States