Shortbread Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Best cookies EVER! :) I was never a fan of those overly sweetened sugar cookies. These shortbread cookies are AMAZING COOKIES! Just perfect! :) My mixer was broken so I decided to hand mix the batter. Hand mixing cold butter is a pain so I just stuck the butter in the mircowave for 10 second -- enough to just soften the butter. I added a bit over sugar than required. The mixture was too crumbly and kept falling apart so I added about a 1/2 teaspoon of milk or more. This made the batter real nice! The batter didn't crumbled or fall. When hand mixing -- USE MILK! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Yummy and buttery! I bake these in a cookie sheet and cut them into bars. After they bake, I top w/ a bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips, let them melt, and then spread across the top. Put in fridge to cool and eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESJESSI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I made these to dip in various kinds of chocolate and give away, and they were well-received. However, I found them to be a little harsh and grainy without the added chocolate, though it wasn't very noticeable with it. Perhaps it just needed more or less mixing; will have to try again. Still, very simple recipe, very versatile cookie for decorating or adding on to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaveTheDubs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Great recipe for last minute shortbread. I don't like recipes that use icing sugar and i didn't have time to cure a true shortbread. I added a touch more sugar (in response to earlier reviews) and sprinkled some more on top. A little chewier than usual shortbread but the flavour was nice. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
By far the best shortbread I've ever made or eaten. I am already imagining the possibilities for add-ins such as orange or lemon zest, lavender, cinnamon...but they are fantastic as is. I made these tonight and cut them out with a salmon shaped cookie cutter and dipped the "tails" in melted chocolate. I'm bringing them to a work Christmas potluck tomorrow and I know they'll disappear fast. I softened the butter just slightly enough for it to easily cream with the sugar, but not so soft that the dough got too messy. I made them a little on the thin side and baked for 11 minutes. These are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
My family loved these. I added lemon flavor to them and it really made them extra delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Very nice and easy. Great to make for Holiday gifts. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe. I used it to make thumbprint cookies with strawberry jam in the middle and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
These were great! I was also a wee bit lazy and just firmly pressed these into a brownie pan and baked a bit longer and then cut into strips. WONDERFUL. One thing I did do was to lightly brush the top with milk and then sprinkled granulated sugar on top to give it a light sheen. Thank you for the recipe. This is a real treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Chef John's Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

These cookies are perfect for tea time or frankly, any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States