Shortbread Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
i really loved these cookies... so easy to make and delicious. the word i keep coming back to is smooooth... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Simple recipe with quite a nice flavor. As other reviewers recommended I put in 3/4 cup of sugar instead of 1/2 cup and also added a teaspoon of vanilla. I didn't have an electric mixer to heated the butter to about half-melted, then creamed. The results turned out great. However, the third time I made it I heated the butter too long to completely melted. The resulting dough was very crumbly. I added a bit of flour and waited for the dough to chill a while and it turned out fine. One note: if you add vanilla be sure it is a good quality one otherwise it leaves a bad taste. I also tried this with a couple teaspoons of fresh lime juice instead of vanilla and dipped them in powdered sugar while warm. This was a hit with me and my husband and I'll be making more of these! Very versatile dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Perfect! Just like grandma made. Just remember to add only as much flour needed and not handling the dough with hands so much. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
These cookies are SO easy to make and taste delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
These are a yearly holiday tradition in our home and I can't seem to make them fast enough. I add vanilla extract and dip 1/2 of each cookie in melted dark chocolate. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Sadly, not what I would call supreme. This just was not the shortbread flavor I was hoping for. If I am going to splurge on an unhealthy cookie - it should taste awesome! I will say that they weren't so awful that I threw them away. I added crushed heath bars to the top before baking the rest of them and those were okay. I won't make these again though. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Virginia, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
They taste OK, but they completely fell apart. I would not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
These cookies were pretty good, but I can't give it 5 stars because they definitely do not taste like shortbread cookies. I don't know if it's the recipe, or maybe something I did. I hand-mixed them because I didn't want to pull out the terrible, really loud hand mixer that I had. You really have to do it by hand once you put all that flour in. I rolled it out, cut it into rounds and got about 2 dozen decent sized cookies out of the recipe. They aren't super sweet, just perfect.. I put purple sugar on half of them because my 2 year old thought it was pretty. But, like I said. They're good cookies, just don't taste like Shortbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aerisma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
These are easy to make, delicious to eat, and dangerous to have around the house. My wife and I ate the whole batch within a couple of days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Button

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
No information on how to add the chocolate???? I haven't a clue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States