Shortbread Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
Simple, quick, and they disappear faster than I can make 'em! These don't crumble as easily as other recipes I've tried, and seem like they'd work well as decorated cut-outs (we ate them plain). I like my shortbread just a touch sweeter, so I added a couple tablespoons more sugar to the second batch--YUM! You could also sprinkle a little extra sugar on top before baking if desired. If it won't roll out well, try chilling it for about 30 minutes in the fridge first, especially if you didn't use cold butter. Or add a little more flour if it's sticky. I also suggest you use your (clean) hands to mix the dough, to get that perfect, smooth texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atchison, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
I found this to be exactly what I was looking for. I didn't feel like rolling and cutting them all out so I baked them like a bar and I added some crushed pecans! So Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I just finished trying this recipe and have got to say that it is my new 'go to' cookie recipe. I used confectioners sugar instead of white, (I added 1/4 cup more for a little extra sweetness) added a tablespoon of vanilla, and replaced a tablespoon of flour for corn starch. I did not need to refrigerate the dough, in fact I used a little less of the flour mixture and rolled up 1 inch balls and placed them on the cookie sheet. Then I flattened them with a fork, pushed a little hole in the middle and filled them with jam. mmmmmmm yummmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
This was a great recipe and held together nicely. I have never had much success with using a roll out dough (new to baking) and this went perfectly none of my rabbits lot an ear. They had good flavor and even held up in the cookie jar. The kids loved them. thank's for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
This recipe worked great. I used my KitchenAid mixer, and used the dough hook for the kneading part, and only 2 cups of flour as stated. I did use cold butter, as someone stated previously. They rolled out wonderfully on a marble slab and I was able to use my star shaped cookie cutters without a hitch! Tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
This is very easy to make, however, I wasn't too pleased with the flavor. It was sort of plain. It rolled out easily and baked up nicely, but just didn't have that shortbread flavor I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ggglitch
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Basic ingredients for a basic shortbread cookie. They tasted absolutely fantastic and melted in your mouth when they were still warm, but after they cooled a few minutes later, the cookies did not have that melt in your mouth, creamy shortbread texture that I was looking for. The taste though was excellent. I added 1 tspn vanilla extract for a little more taste. I had a ton of chocolate baking wafers, so I put one in the middle of each of my cookies to make them look prettier and for a little chocolate treat. Easy to make and great tasting, but as for the authentic 'shortbread' factor, I would say it's lacking in the texture compartment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ggglitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Far easier and faster than my usual recipe. Family wanted it a bit sweeter, added 3 more tablespoons of sugar with the second batch. They loved them! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OlliesMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
A very simple and yummy recipe. COLD butter helps quite a bit. With a little extra sugar, they taste just like store bought English shortbread biscuits. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2001
My husband, who loves sugar cookies, told me that this is the only cookie recipe that I'll ever need to use again! My whole family loves these cookies and so do I, especially since they are so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States