Shortbread Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
These cookies were pretty good, but I can't give it 5 stars because they definitely do not taste like shortbread cookies. I don't know if it's the recipe, or maybe something I did. I hand-mixed them because I didn't want to pull out the terrible, really loud hand mixer that I had. You really have to do it by hand once you put all that flour in. I rolled it out, cut it into rounds and got about 2 dozen decent sized cookies out of the recipe. They aren't super sweet, just perfect.. I put purple sugar on half of them because my 2 year old thought it was pretty. But, like I said. They're good cookies, just don't taste like Shortbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aerisma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
These are easy to make, delicious to eat, and dangerous to have around the house. My wife and I ate the whole batch within a couple of days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Button

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
No information on how to add the chocolate???? I haven't a clue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
These are beautiful, just can't figure out how to make the chocolae centers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Yum!! These are so deelish and buttery! I also increased the sugar to 3/4 cup. Some I made plain, others I used thin confectioner's sugar icing. Found that kneading the dough after mixing and refrigerating for a few minutes helps. I cut these into bar/squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
out of control deliciousness. I changed the sugar to 3/4 cup per a pastry chef's recommendation and have added vanilla extract or lemon extract (1/2 tsp) for variations. So good. Egg free, too, so good for kids with allergies. Excellent for dunking in coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Leong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
very good, soft. closely resembles a normal Christmas cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashi Meessir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KaisMommy
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Great recipe! Cookies literally "melt" in your mouth. For flavor I add 2 teaspoonsful each of almond and vanilla extracts and a cream cheese frosting w/ sprinkles on top of cookies. Food coloring adds a nice touch as well (see my uploaded photo*).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaisMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Best cookies EVER! :) I was never a fan of those overly sweetened sugar cookies. These shortbread cookies are AMAZING COOKIES! Just perfect! :) My mixer was broken so I decided to hand mix the batter. Hand mixing cold butter is a pain so I just stuck the butter in the mircowave for 10 second -- enough to just soften the butter. I added a bit over sugar than required. The mixture was too crumbly and kept falling apart so I added about a 1/2 teaspoon of milk or more. This made the batter real nice! The batter didn't crumbled or fall. When hand mixing -- USE MILK! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Yummy and buttery! I bake these in a cookie sheet and cut them into bars. After they bake, I top w/ a bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips, let them melt, and then spread across the top. Put in fridge to cool and eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States