Shortbread Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
These taste great. Next time I'll roll them a little thicker. I thought 1/4 inch was a bit too thin, but that is personal preference and nothing to fault with this simple recipe. I made heart-shaped cookied and dipped half of each heart in chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Wow, this is good. I followed other reviewers hints and added a teaspoon of vanilla and a couple tablespoons more of sugar; pressed dough out in a metal pan, scored with a pizza cutter. A hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CafeAmericano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Batesville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
i really loved these cookies... so easy to make and delicious. the word i keep coming back to is smooooth... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Simple recipe with quite a nice flavor. As other reviewers recommended I put in 3/4 cup of sugar instead of 1/2 cup and also added a teaspoon of vanilla. I didn't have an electric mixer to heated the butter to about half-melted, then creamed. The results turned out great. However, the third time I made it I heated the butter too long to completely melted. The resulting dough was very crumbly. I added a bit of flour and waited for the dough to chill a while and it turned out fine. One note: if you add vanilla be sure it is a good quality one otherwise it leaves a bad taste. I also tried this with a couple teaspoons of fresh lime juice instead of vanilla and dipped them in powdered sugar while warm. This was a hit with me and my husband and I'll be making more of these! Very versatile dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Perfect! Just like grandma made. Just remember to add only as much flour needed and not handling the dough with hands so much. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jo Staebler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
These cookies are SO easy to make and taste delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
These are a yearly holiday tradition in our home and I can't seem to make them fast enough. I add vanilla extract and dip 1/2 of each cookie in melted dark chocolate. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Sadly, not what I would call supreme. This just was not the shortbread flavor I was hoping for. If I am going to splurge on an unhealthy cookie - it should taste awesome! I will say that they weren't so awful that I threw them away. I added crushed heath bars to the top before baking the rest of them and those were okay. I won't make these again though. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Virginia, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
They taste OK, but they completely fell apart. I would not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
These cookies were pretty good, but I can't give it 5 stars because they definitely do not taste like shortbread cookies. I don't know if it's the recipe, or maybe something I did. I hand-mixed them because I didn't want to pull out the terrible, really loud hand mixer that I had. You really have to do it by hand once you put all that flour in. I rolled it out, cut it into rounds and got about 2 dozen decent sized cookies out of the recipe. They aren't super sweet, just perfect.. I put purple sugar on half of them because my 2 year old thought it was pretty. But, like I said. They're good cookies, just don't taste like Shortbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aerisma

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 41-50 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States