Shortbread Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Very good recipe. Made a 1/3 of it with 'Key Lime Pie VII' by ANNRICHARDSON, what a combo!! It's a little 'fiddly' to get into the pie plate, TIP: reserve a little of the icing sugar to dip your fingers in so that the dough doesn't stick as much when you are pressing it into the pan. I also omitted the 2 hours of chilling (impatient!) and it turned out fine. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smilinrosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
excellent under the recipe called ' Lemon Meringue Pie" by Rhonda. A perfect combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I used it just on the bottom of a 13x9 for a dessert. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Tried weighting this as suggested, with horrible results. I've checked and double checked the ingredients and it looks like I got it all in the right proportions, but my crust basically just liquefies and boils when I put it in the oven. Can't get it to solidify. I'll try this again, but butter ain't cheap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Used this for pecan pie. The pie crust stayed in place with the weight from the filling. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Definitely best for a flat bottom pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Estee Fraser (Pinchasin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
very good made with blueberry pie. the sides sunk down though. i think i needed to weight it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I used this with Deni's Strawberry Cheese Pie, also from Allrecipes. The crust has a great taste, but I ran into a problem when baking. After the original 15 minute baking time the crust was soggy and sliding down the sides of the pie plate. I sprayed the outside of a baking dish with cooking spray and pressed it into the crust, returned it to the oven for 15 more minutes, and ended up with a useable crust. It did crumble some, making it very difficult to cut. I agree with another reviewer that this would probably work very well as flat base-type crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Made this crust for a dutch apple pie and it turned out delicious! Was super simply to throw together at the last minute and imo taste way better than regular pie crust. As another user mentioned, the crust will bubble a bit if you don't use pie weights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nita Abner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Clemens, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
An easy and great tasting crust. Worked really well with pumpkin pie. But cover the edges as they do brown a bit to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Watervliet, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Pie Crust

Burnt pie crust? No problem. With these ingenious tricks, it’s an easy fix.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States