Shortbread Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
This recipes is tasty BUT it doesn't stick to the sides of the pie pan. When cooking, all of the dough ends up at the bottom and very thick. It would be great for "bars" but not for a pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
Yummy! Follwed the directions exactly and the crust came out perfectly. It didn't stick to my pie plate and didn't crumble when I cut the pie into pieces. I used this recipe when making the "Strawberry Shortbread Pie" recipe from this site. They are a perfect match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I love this recipe (we love shortbread!) and can see myself using it for many pies that had the traditional crust. Seems like the right "fit" with fruit pies. I made a strawberry pie from this site and it was out of this world with this crust! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
This crust was great with a coconut cream pie. I will definitely use this crust again. Although, the recipe did make more than enough crust, even for a deep dish 9". It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ditty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
This crust tasted great! I made it for a coconut cream pie for my husband and it was a delicious combination. It didn't really hold up very well when serving though, and fell apart. If you don't care about taking a slice of pie out of the pan in pieces, then I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Very tasty. My supermarket doesn't carry the premade shortbread crusts anymore so I thought I'd try this one. I also added a capful of vanilla to the batter and refrigerated the pie crust for about 1/2 hour prior to baking. I found baking time is more like 15-20 minutes. This crust is great with strawberry pie recipes from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBILL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
I normally leave the crust when I eat a pie, because most crust doesn't taste that great and it just seems like empty calories, but I love the taste of shortbread. This crust doesn't really roll like a typical pie crust dough, at least it hasn't for me and I've used it 3 times. After I mix the dough, I just put the crumbles into the pan and pat it into place and it works fine, but have been unsuccessful rolling it out the traditional way. Today I tried it with a little additional vegetable oil, and it was much more the texture of typical pie dough, and still tasted fine. I didn't find the recipe to be too large for a single crust, at least not the way I use it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
Quick and easy to make crust. I refrigerated the dough for a half hour before baking, pricked the crust on the bottom to keep it from "poofing" up too much, and added 1 tsp. of vanilla for flavour. Quick, easy and delicious. I agree with the previous review; it yields two crusts. Great with the Fresh Strawberry Pie I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
Delicious shortbread crust. A few comments, though: 1) yields 2 pies, or one double crust; 2) I think baking powder may be omitted, since the shortbread rises very high and 3) may add 1/2 to 1 tsp salt, to make it even more shortbready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
I thought this recipe was delicious. The first time I made it I filled the crust with fresh strawberries, and the second I used dulce de leche ice cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

How to Fix Burnt Pie Crust

Burnt pie crust? No problem. With these ingenious tricks, it’s an easy fix.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States