Shortbread Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
While I didn't really care for this recipe as a pie crust (too sweet for strawberry pie), I made the leftover dough into some AMAZING shortbread cookies. I followed the recipe to a "T", but took the advice of others and only used about half for the pie crust- it was still quite thick enough. Perhaps I should have sprayed the glass pie dish with cooking spray because it was extremely difficult to get the crust out with the pie. To top it all off- the strawberries did not set well, so I ended up with a pile of strawberry goo instead of pie. oh well. didn't taste too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xhenifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanna City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This is really good! I halved the recipe for the green tea cheesecake on this site, and I would have to say this crust is 20x yummier! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strawbificial

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was delcious - I used this as the crust for the 'Bake Sale Lemon Bars' on this site...thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I used this for a lemon meringue pie and it got rave reviews. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I easily got two pies out of this recipe, as I used a crumb topping on each. The butter I cut down just slightly, and it was still fantastic. I even made this in a square pan, for shortbread cookie bars. I have heard it said that the simpler the better, and this is so true! Why buy packaged crust or cookies filled with unpronouncable ingredients when you can whip this up in no time?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This was really good and easy to make. The dough came out very soft, making it easy to shape in the pie plate. Once baked, it was super flaky and just came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kauai17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victoria, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This is my go to shortbread recipe. I bake mine in a springform pan so it comes out cleanly. I have also baked it on sheet pans when I do a double recipe. I make a great dessert that layers crumbled shortbread, vanilla pudding, fresh berried and whipped cream. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOTQUITEMARTHA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This tasted wonderful! It fits perfectly pressed into a 9x13 pan, and still delivers a think crust. It was very easy to press into the pan and I made sure I poked a few holes in with a fork to stop it from rising up too much and it worked perfectly. I made this with fresh strawberry pie. Just delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parkes, New South Wales, Australia
Living In: Warrens, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
very tasty and super simple. I am adding this one to the ole recipe box. I didn't make any changes or substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This recipe provides more dough than will fit into a 9-in pie plate. It would probably work better in a 9x13. I had to cook 7 minutes longer than indicated to get it done & a couple of times had to take it out of the oven to pat down & reshape the rising dough so it would leave room in the dish for my pie filling. It was worth the effort though & went nicely with my key lime pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

How to Fix Burnt Pie Crust

Burnt pie crust? No problem. With these ingenious tricks, it’s an easy fix.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States