Shortbread Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This was really good....I made it in a 9 1/2 inch pie dish and it was plenty thick. I made it for a strawberry pie and everyone thought it was great. It's also way easier than a regular pie crust since you just press it into the pan instead of rolling it out. I'll definitely be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I love this crust! It's going to be my go to crust from now on, it's so yummy and easy to make. It stood up well to my lemon meringue pie and was easy to get out of the pan, unlike some reviewers.This definitely is enough for two crusts and mine took way longer to cook than indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This crust was wonderful with a chocolate hazelnut cream cheese filling. I halved the recipe and it was perfect for a 9" tart. When you press it up the sides of a pie plate/tart pan, please understand it will shrink significantly so make sure you make the sides a bit higher than you normally might. This is great with cooked, cream fillings - I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This crust was incredibly easy to make and tasted amazing! I used it in place of a graham cracker crust for a peanut butter bar I made and everyone just kept going on about how moist the crust was! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Very quick, simple pie crust recipe. It has a much lighter texture and flavour than pastry or graham crusts and almost got lost under my lemon meringue pie. I think this would be better used for a filling with a subtle flavour, or a pie where you want the filling to be tasted and the crust used mainly for support. I actually made this gluten and dairy free by using gluten free all purpose flour (a combination of rice, potato and tapioca flours) instead of wheat flour and margarine instead of butter. It turned out great and I would definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This crust was delicious, if a little too brittle. This was enough for two crusts, but I think next time I'll just roll out the extra for shortbread cookie cutouts. All in all, very tasty crust. I filled it with the Cream Cheese Blueberry Pie from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thefayray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This tasted great, and was really quick to whip together. It made more than enough for my one pie, probably enough for two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Good recipe - this definitely makes enough for 2 crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. M

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SPEARL20
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I had to add a bit of extra flour--maybe since I'm at high altitude? Delicious as shortbread cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARL20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Not too bad. not too great either. Mine stuck to the pan too. Will keep looking for another shortbread crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 41-50 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

How to Fix Burnt Pie Crust

Burnt pie crust? No problem. With these ingenious tricks, it’s an easy fix.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States