Shortbread Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I love this recipe! What I did to save time... I rolled the dough into a log shape and cut the cookies into 1/2 inch thick pieces. They turned out beautifully and it saved a TON of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
This cookie was wonderful and very easy to make variations and have them turn out, try this one, roll into short sticks and after cooled dip one end in melted chocolate. Also great for thumbprint cookies, add your favorite filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Based on the reviews here, I cut the amount of corn starch in half and these turned out pretty good. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla extract. There was still a slight floury or something taste to them, so maybe there was still a bit too much cornstarch or flour, but it was pretty subtle. I will use this recipe again and tweak it some more. I recommend baking them at a higher temperature or for longer though because mine didn't turn out brown enough for my taste. They were basically white with only the faintest golden color to the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This is the best shortbread recipe and correct proportion of ingredients - I omit the salt. I have been making this recipe at Christmas for years and they are the first cookie gone. Recently won "Best in Show" and first place at the local fairs. Good with a pecan in the middle or a marischino cherry and melted dark chocolate drizzled over top - "Black Forest Shortbread".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clreich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestermere, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Carstairs, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
P-E-R-F-E-C-T! I've been looking for a shortbread recipe for a while. This recipe was exactly what I had been looking for! So simple and fun. You get to let your hands do the dirty work. If anyone is looking for a shortbread recipe... this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
These are so light and buttery they just melt in your mouth. I used a cookies stamp to flatten slightly and imprints left beautiful impressions. Makes them just that much more special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Maybe I did something wrong but my boyfriend and I took one bite and threw them away! Too much cornstarch I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
I have been using this recipe for years. I originally found it on the side of a cornstarch box but then later, as luck would have it, I misplaced it. Glad to find it again...IT IS THE BEST SHORTBREAD THAT I HAVE EVER MADE. I pipe the dough into "swedish" tins and bake. When I am about to serve I dust them with icing sugar and put a dab of raspberry jam in the centre. DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
My cookies looked very suspect but they tasted wonderful. The recipe is easy to follow and I would highly recommend it. Half way through the baking I mixed 3 tablespoons of vanilla & 4 tablespoons of water and spooned it over the top of each cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardena, California, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
i was looking for a buttery shortbread recipe with cornstarch that was easy, and this was perfect!! they were so light and buttery - and very easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States