Shortbread Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Based on the reviews here, I cut the amount of corn starch in half and these turned out pretty good. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla extract. There was still a slight floury or something taste to them, so maybe there was still a bit too much cornstarch or flour, but it was pretty subtle. I will use this recipe again and tweak it some more. I recommend baking them at a higher temperature or for longer though because mine didn't turn out brown enough for my taste. They were basically white with only the faintest golden color to the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Maybe I did something wrong but my boyfriend and I took one bite and threw them away! Too much cornstarch I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
I used this recipe for holiday gifts a few years ago, and my 25 year old brother liked them so much he was bartering with other people for theirs. When a plate of them were accidentally dropped on the floor, he ate them anyway. I like how easy the recipe is and how they seem to melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
This recipe is just okay. Too much cornstarch for my liking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail K
Home Town: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
Delicious recipe. I made them and they went fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
I found this recipe to be floury tasting. I think it has far too much corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Finley, Washington, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Not my favorite. The cornstarch taste is very noticable. It was the proper texture for shortbread and baked beautifully, but it's not for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
Delicious. They remind me of cookies my aunt and Grandmother used to make. I was so happy when I realized that they are similar. Also very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATHER_ARTISTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I love this recipe! What I did to save time... I rolled the dough into a log shape and cut the cookies into 1/2 inch thick pieces. They turned out beautifully and it saved a TON of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
P-E-R-F-E-C-T! I've been looking for a shortbread recipe for a while. This recipe was exactly what I had been looking for! So simple and fun. You get to let your hands do the dirty work. If anyone is looking for a shortbread recipe... this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States