Shortbread Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
my first shortbread trial. they are really good. i like to take a fork and press down on the cookies. this way they are not so doughy in the middle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meaghan R. Dozeman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
great recipe as a base, but i think some of the proportions are a little off...equal parts cornstarch to sugar seems a little much to me, might be too starchy? i reduced the cornstarch by half and increased the powdered sugar by half and found it was perfect, i would make this recipe again using these measurements instead. adding orange concentrate or lemon juice and a bit of zest makes a nice variation too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
amazing. I added apprx 1/2 teas vanilla, and cut back the cornstarch (as others suggested) to 2/3 cup! Awesome cookie! You should not be able to ruin this cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I'm an avid baker and these cookies were hard, pasty and the butter flavor was overbearing. The texture and flavor were not what a traditional shortbread cookie should be. They should melt in your mouth, definitely not the result desired. Disappointed and will try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
My grandaughter and I made these for Xmas gifts. They are rich and tasty, melt in your mouth. Perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I made these cookies and they are simply delightful! They were very simple and very good. I must have put them on the tray wrong though because they flattened. They were very thin and wafer like but still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Very tasty. Used another reviewers idea and rolled into a log and sliced dough. Worked out well. When cooled, I dipped rounds into dark chocolate and chopped walnuts for a pretty finish. Delicious too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
These are very good, and egg-free (food allergies in my family.) I did a few with strawberry jam in the center, and those were the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This is the best shortbread recipe and correct proportion of ingredients - I omit the salt. I have been making this recipe at Christmas for years and they are the first cookie gone. Recently won "Best in Show" and first place at the local fairs. Good with a pecan in the middle or a marischino cherry and melted dark chocolate drizzled over top - "Black Forest Shortbread".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clreich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestermere, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Carstairs, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MummyJacks
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Great recipe, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MummyJacks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Cochrane, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States