Shortbread Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
After making the dough instead of using a cookie press or dropping by balls, I rolled the dough into four logs, wrapped the logs in waxed paper, placed in the fridge to harden, and then sliced in about 1/2" slices. Perfect and delicious. Sometimes I make the dough up to 3 days ahead of time then slice and bake when I need them. After baked I sprinkle with powder sugar. Makes a beauiful presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
903 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve Rentko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Excellent shortbread ccokies!! But be prepared when making these, the recipe says it makes 2 dozen and that's WAY off unless you're using some super **huge** cookie press! I get at least 6 dozen cookies out of one batch every time I make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
890 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
these cookies were fantastic!! i rolled out the dough and used cutters.. turned out fantastic.. also have sprinkled with sugar, and others i drizzled with chocolate.. great recipe, you gotta try it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
399 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
This recipe was very easy and came out very good. But I think the proportions are wrong, I halved the recipe and still made at least 2 dozen. I also didn't have a cookie press, so I just rolled the dough into little balls, then flattened them on the cookie sheet. Next time I plan on dipping them in melted chocolate... mmmm..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2000
I made a second batch using "orange" extract instead of the vanilla. They were fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annita Ketcher Parsons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stilwell, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Wonderful shortbread cookie! These were so easy to make and yet turned out fabulous. It's great when such simple ingredients come together to create something so delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and let the dough chill in the fridge for a half hour before rolling it out and using cookie cutters vs. a cookie press. I baked the cookies on parchment paper and they were perfectly done in ten minutes. These have a wonderful butter flavor and are great for decorating. When I was all done I placed them in clear cellophane bags tied with ribbon - too cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
They really do melt in your mouth. I was surprised that so few ingredients made such a tasty little cookie. This was my first try with a cookie press and this recipe worked wonderfully, even though the directions that came with the press said to use only their recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TISFEMIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
These cookies melt in your mouth and taste as good or better than any other shortbread recipe I have used, but only used 4 ingredients. They were so easy and cheap to make, I am definately saving the recipe. Although they taste good plain, I added coconut to a second batch and was very pleased with the result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly the only thing I don't have is a cookie press. I'm a very experienced baker and never had cookie dough go this wrong on me! I chilled the dough for 30 minutes before trying to roll it out but it was still very gooey and sticky. It also tore far too easily and my floured rolling pin couldn't even go one stretch before tearing it apart and getting the dough stuck to the *floured* surface. I'm sure this is a great recipe if you have a cookie press. The doug tastes delicious. I ended up pressing it out with my hands and using cutters. This obviously gives sort of ugly uneven cookies but with the amount of butter I used i didn't want it to go to waste. We'll see how they bake! Just a warning to other cookie press-less bakers. I was hugely disappointed. It's also kind of screwed up my Christmas party as I now only have 3 hours to finish off and offer ugly cookies! Haha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Staffordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
easy and good in the cookie press...I made about 80 with the cookie press...they are a great size for kids. Not too big not too small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONHAREHAYASHI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartly, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eden, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 549) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States