Shortbread Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Very easy and they are not too sweet and they melt in your mouth. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
These were great! I was looking for a cookie I could use for mini fruit pizzas. This one worked well. Just made them a little thicker. Rolled into a log and put in fridge for awhile. Then sliced them and baked. Will be making again for a Scotland project my daughter is doing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Our go-to recipe for amazing shortbread!! I have made these as rolled cookies (using parchment paper to avoid sticking) and rolled them in logs and sliced them after chilling when I am pressed for time. We have never had them go wrong. A few tips: allow the butter to warm to room temperature before creaming (do not microwave!) and mix the dough with your hands after adding the flour to warm the butter and make it stick well together. Don't skip the chilling, and you'll get perfect flaky shortbread every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORIWIK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I used almond extract instead of vanilla and they were fabulous! It was a very easy cookie to make and an excellent excuse to use my cookie press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Mine were Okay, not much flavour, like other reviews stated, too much flower, the dough just crumbled. I had to sprinkle with water to hold it together. It may be Canadian flour vs US. I have heard that can make a difference. I may try again using less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
i added ground almonds to it... came out amazing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This recipe is SO simple and SO good. Flaky and buttery, perfection. I made these at christmas and again today for valentines day. However, I added a final step because I use cookie cutters. I roll the dough into a ball and put it in saran wrap and into the fridge for about and hour. Then take it out, kneed the dough and roll it out and use cookie cutters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Easy, yummy, wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This was the first shortbread recipe I ever tried and one that I am going to keep forever! What I like to add to the recipe is orange or lemon flavor - the juice and the zest from the rind. For Halloween I used this recipe to make those shortbread owls that's all aflutter on pintrest/internet - super big hit! For the holidays I used a cookie cutter to make star shapes, and after they finished baking I wrapped 5 cookies in colored cellophane and a ribbon to give as gifts to friends, family, and neighbors. Some lessons I learned from trying this recipe: - I tried to make a vegan butter batch but that did not go well at all - they shriveled up and became super hard - Using a cookie gun for this recipe is incredibly difficult - you have to work the dough a lot and make it more moist, which may or may not take away from the final shortbread texture. - Rolling out the dough and using a cookie cutter works better, but again, it takes some extra effort (and a lot of extra flour!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This is the best Shortbread cookie recipe I've found so far. My husbands grandmother is from England and notoriously hard on shortbread since she grew up with traditional shortbread and shortbread cookies. I made these and she raved about them and no longer wants any kind but the ones I make. I'd say that's a compliment!! I do tweak mine just a bit by sometimes adding a scraped vanilla bean and only one teaspoon of Vanilla extract. I prefer also to let the dough chill after I mix it together and roll it into a roll, wrap in plastic and refrigerate and then cut slices off of to bake. With the amount of butter, it just really is easier, less messy, etc. Am thinking of trying these with some chopped pecans and toffee bits one day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 517) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States