Shortbread Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I haven't had much luck with shortbread before but these are great. There's a few things to remember: If the only shortbread you've ever tasted is store bought and you think that's how it's suppose to taste, you might not give this recipe the credit it deserves. For those who are complaining about the cookie being too hard, you may not have creamed the butter and sugar long enough. You really need to get the air in there and trust me these cookies melt in your mouth. I made them and served butter pecan icecream with them and it was so perfect. Also, I didn't use a cookie press because I just like to make logs and I made two large ones. You get a ton of cookies. Also, depending on how big and thick the cookies are you may need to increase the cooking time by 2-5 minutes. Thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
So easy and delicious. I rolled them into logs and place in the fridge til I needed them. Then I just sliced and baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Very easy and they are not too sweet and they melt in your mouth. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
These were great! I was looking for a cookie I could use for mini fruit pizzas. This one worked well. Just made them a little thicker. Rolled into a log and put in fridge for awhile. Then sliced them and baked. Will be making again for a Scotland project my daughter is doing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Our go-to recipe for amazing shortbread!! I have made these as rolled cookies (using parchment paper to avoid sticking) and rolled them in logs and sliced them after chilling when I am pressed for time. We have never had them go wrong. A few tips: allow the butter to warm to room temperature before creaming (do not microwave!) and mix the dough with your hands after adding the flour to warm the butter and make it stick well together. Don't skip the chilling, and you'll get perfect flaky shortbread every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORIWIK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I used almond extract instead of vanilla and they were fabulous! It was a very easy cookie to make and an excellent excuse to use my cookie press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Mine were Okay, not much flavour, like other reviews stated, too much flower, the dough just crumbled. I had to sprinkle with water to hold it together. It may be Canadian flour vs US. I have heard that can make a difference. I may try again using less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
i added ground almonds to it... came out amazing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This recipe is SO simple and SO good. Flaky and buttery, perfection. I made these at christmas and again today for valentines day. However, I added a final step because I use cookie cutters. I roll the dough into a ball and put it in saran wrap and into the fridge for about and hour. Then take it out, kneed the dough and roll it out and use cookie cutters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Easy, yummy, wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 519) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States