Shortbread Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
these were good but I had to add some milk because the dough was too dry and wouldn't go through my cookie press
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
These could not have turned out better! Thanks for the wonderful recipe. Would not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I agree. This is an excellent recipe. It's easy to put together, baked up nice and tastes delicious. You can't go wrong with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIAGULIA3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I've made several batches of this recipe, substituting almond extract for vanilla, and powdered sugar for granulated (1.75c powdered = 1c granulated), which leaves it with a consistency of play dough which is excellent for loading into my cookie press, with no need to refrigerate. I do a double click (larger cookie) on the cookie press, 5 minutes @ 350, and then turn for another 4 minutes, then remove to cool for 5 minutes, and rack to fully cool. Each batch results in approximately 70 yummy cookies that melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
These cookies are fantastic. The recipe is simple, and easy to follow. I was able to switch out white flour with an unbleached and whole wheat mix, and still ended up with melt-in-your-mouth tasty cookies with a soft wonderful texture. Like many other I did not have a cookie press, so I rolled out little balls a la peanut butter cookies and just pushed them down with the fork. However, like others have said, this recipe makes more than 2 dozen cookies for sure. I got over three and was making some pretty hefty sized cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MissMegs
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Really love this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Mmmm... I halved the recipe and rolled dough into two logs wrapped in parchment paper. I refrigerated the logs for about 30 minutes and then sliced into quarter inch slices with a sharp knife. I then used the same parchment paper to bake these for almost 15 minutes. Delicious. Just make sure the dough is properly mixed before rolling the dough. Next time, after baking and cooling, I will try these dipped halfway in melted bittersweet chocolate and chopped almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I tried this recipe because I was out of corn starch, and my usual recipe requires it. These cookies stay soft, but this is not like the classic shortbread. More chewy then melty. I dipped the tips of the cookies in a chocolate ganache, complimented the cookies nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Bought the Wilton cookie press just for this recipe and sadly it didn't work out :( Ended up rolling out the dough into logs and cutting into little cookies. I think the dough was too stiff for the press. It came out of the press but not cleanly onto the cookie sheet. Just looked like sad, squished playdoh wah-wah. Perhaps my butter wasn't soft enough? I may try the recipe again since the cookies themselves tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
LOVE this recipe. Big hit at Christmas parties, bake sales, etc. Made an account just so I could comment and express my appreciation for this recipe. I like to add 3 tsp of vanilla, and then top with icing and sprinkles. The sprinkles can be changed depending on the holiday/occasion/preferences, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 542) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States