Shortbread Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
These were so great! I dipped them in white and milk chocolate .... gone in 5 minutes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by padecakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This recipe made the perfect shortbread cookie. I'm not much for sweets and desserts, but every once in a while I get a craving. Well, I had a 'need' yesterday, but didn't feel like spending an hour in the kitchen just to take care of a craving that will be taken care of with a bite or two of something sweet. I scaled down the recipe by 3/4, and was still able to get a nice sized log. I whipped these up in less than 5 minutes, then I placed the mixture in the fridge for about 10 minutes to let it firm up a bit. I then put the mixture in saran wrap and formed it into a log (just kind of form it into a log by hand, wrap it in saran wrap and roll it along your counter...it'll be the perfect log shape in no time), then I cut 8, 1/4 inch thick cookies and baked them for about 9 minutes. This was the perfect amount for my boyfriend and I to have a sweet snack. I wrapped the rest of the dough and placed it in the fridge, and I'll be able to slice and bake a few whenever I have my next 'need'. I think the next time I make a batch, I'll add a bit of lemon juice to make Lemon Shortbread Cookies! Either way, great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I altered the way these were made just a bit... I rolled these into a log and froze it then cut it into slices about the size I needed and rolled it just a little In between plastic wrap then used cookie cutter to get the shape I wanted flipped it onto a cookie sheet baked them up and got great reviews from everyone who tried them. They were wonderful, ii just need to remember not to use salted butter next time! But even with the salted butter ppl loved them. So excited by recipe.. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I actually really liked this recipe, with very simple ingredients and even simpler instructions. I didn't have a cookie press, so I rolled out the dough on a floured surface and used cookie cutters. It worked perfectly! Also, I greased the pans just in case, although the dough itself was greasy. I had just taken the butter out of the fridge, and instead of letting it soften on its own, I melted 1 1/2 cups of butter. Great recipe for all levels of cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I made though dough before I realized that my press was broken. These turned out great anyway. I dipped the bottom in chocolate & the family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
So I made the mistake of making these cookies. And by mistake, I mean that once I tried one and it melted in my mouth, I wanted to eat the whole batch! They are absolutely wonderful! Such a simple recipe. I don't have a cookie press so I took a suggestion from another review and rolled the dough into 4 logs and wrapped them in wax paper. I put 2 in the fridge to harden for about an hour and 2 went in the freezer for another day. I cut them into 1/2 inch disks and got about 3 doz. Baking time took about 5 minutes longer than what the recipe says so just keep an eye on them. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Came out great. Dipped them in chocolate and my guests said they tasted like Milano cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I baked these with my daughter. My wife said they were perfect. I almost bought shortbread cookies today at the grocery store with a long list of ingredkents. I am so glad I found this simple 4 ingredient cookie recipe. I also do not have a cookie press and do not care to have one, so I rolled the dough into a log. Chilled it in the fridge and sliced them into thick slices and baked for 10 minutes. This is a great classic understated cookie. Thanks all recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I halved the recipe and I still got more than 2 dozen cookies. I don't have a cookie press so I just rolled up the dough into 2 logs, wrapped them up in plastic wrap and put them in the freezer for a bit before putting them in the fridge overnight. Then cut them in 1/2 inch slices and onto the cookie sheet with parchment paper. Turned out perfect in 12 minutes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Great flavor and melt in your mouth delicious. You definitely need to chill the dough thoroughly before baking. I didn't and they spread everywhere and were ugly, ugly, ugly. Still tasty but not attractive at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clover, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Belmont, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 530) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States