Shortbread Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This recipe is SO simple and SO good. Flaky and buttery, perfection. I made these at christmas and again today for valentines day. However, I added a final step because I use cookie cutters. I roll the dough into a ball and put it in saran wrap and into the fridge for about and hour. Then take it out, kneed the dough and roll it out and use cookie cutters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Easy, yummy, wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This was the first shortbread recipe I ever tried and one that I am going to keep forever! What I like to add to the recipe is orange or lemon flavor - the juice and the zest from the rind. For Halloween I used this recipe to make those shortbread owls that's all aflutter on pintrest/internet - super big hit! For the holidays I used a cookie cutter to make star shapes, and after they finished baking I wrapped 5 cookies in colored cellophane and a ribbon to give as gifts to friends, family, and neighbors. Some lessons I learned from trying this recipe: - I tried to make a vegan butter batch but that did not go well at all - they shriveled up and became super hard - Using a cookie gun for this recipe is incredibly difficult - you have to work the dough a lot and make it more moist, which may or may not take away from the final shortbread texture. - Rolling out the dough and using a cookie cutter works better, but again, it takes some extra effort (and a lot of extra flour!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This is the best Shortbread cookie recipe I've found so far. My husbands grandmother is from England and notoriously hard on shortbread since she grew up with traditional shortbread and shortbread cookies. I made these and she raved about them and no longer wants any kind but the ones I make. I'd say that's a compliment!! I do tweak mine just a bit by sometimes adding a scraped vanilla bean and only one teaspoon of Vanilla extract. I prefer also to let the dough chill after I mix it together and roll it into a roll, wrap in plastic and refrigerate and then cut slices off of to bake. With the amount of butter, it just really is easier, less messy, etc. Am thinking of trying these with some chopped pecans and toffee bits one day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
These cookies were gone quickly!! My husband is very picky about his cookies and he loved them. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I just made this today and its a great shortbread recipe. I don't own a cookie press, and my dough was sticky (I honestly expected this). So I just ended up dropping a dolop of dough in my cupcake tin and pressed it down flat with my 1/4 c measuring cup. Worked like a charm. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MakamaeB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Simple, great flavor. Loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
These did stick to my cookie press, although it may have been that I greased my cookie sheets? Other than that, these are very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Just finished 2 batches of these and have no idea what I did wrong.. the final mixture was just flour. Couldn't even form dough to make cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
The classic shortbread recipe! Just flour, butter, sugar and a bit of vanilla, just the way a shortbread should be. I got 4 dozen press cookies out of half of this recipe, and they were delicious and buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 521) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States