Shortbread Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
LOVE this recipe. Big hit at Christmas parties, bake sales, etc. Made an account just so I could comment and express my appreciation for this recipe. I like to add 3 tsp of vanilla, and then top with icing and sprinkles. The sprinkles can be changed depending on the holiday/occasion/preferences, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I have been baking for years and this was the first time I have ever tried to make shortbread cookies. I really like shortbread and thought I would give it a go on making some. The first time, I did exactly as the recipe instructed, but the cookies had hardly any flavor at all. The second batch I added a BUNCH (3 teaspoons) more vanilla extract and they had a light vanilla flavor, finally. Other than the flavor, the cookies turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CubanChica_FoodLover

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I've used this recipe about four times without a cookie press and it's worked wonderfully. I don't chill the dough, and I make sure the butter isn't completely at room temperature, so they roll out better. This time, I even added candy canes to the batter and it's turning out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Yummy and oh so easy! I followed another bakers tip and rolled into logs, chilled, sliced and baked! Cutting with cookie cutters would have looked better but still looked good and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Great recipe for "pure" shortbread. I used lemon extract instead of vanilla and added the grated zest from one lemon. I rolled them out and used cookie cutters. Perfect Christmas cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
OMG... this cookie really does melt in your mouth... I added some chopped pecans to the mix and it is excellent...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Awesome cookies. Followed exact recipe. Very easy and fast to make. Made 56 cookies. They were pretty sticky when rolling them out. Next time I will chill them for an hour and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This is a very good basic shortbread, and easy to innovate with. To one batch, I added lemon juice, lemon zest and a little more sugar. In the other, I replaced 1/2 a cup of flour with cocoa. I used food coloring to make these dark green for trees and wreaths. They were fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsflyvt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
We followed the recipe exactly and we got mediocre cookies. They hardly expanded/fluffed out which, I think, would've made them more aesthetically pleasing. The taste was decent at best. Still looking for that 5 star shortbread cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
It was easy to make for a first time cookie baker. With a cookie press I made 60 cookies not 12 as the quantity called. This recipe could also use a little more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 573) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

These cookies are perfect for tea time or frankly, any time!

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States