Shortbread Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I am English and have been eating shortbread cookies all my life and without doubt this was the finest. Cannot wait to make another batch because I made some real rookie mistakes on this batch. I made some thick and some thinner (the thin ones were super super delicious... so crisp and melt in the mouth) but mixed them up on the same baking tray so the thin ones were cooked while the thick ones were not quite ready. Second mistake I tried to move them to the cooling rack too soon and the shape got messy. They really need about 5 mins on the baking tray before they are ready to be moved. On the second tray I made thumb cookies with lemon curd.... again it was lovely but I made the indentation too deep and when the curd melted it cooked almost through the dough. A centimeter more and there would have been a hole. The last batch were sprinkled with Heath bar bits but the cookie itself was so buttery and vanillary that the bits were lost in the mouth. I piped peppermint candy on top of some and that flavor was so distinctly different it worked much better. Just one more tip.... you have to work quickly with this dough or put it back in the fridge for a while. Honestly cant imagine being bothered making any other type of cookie ever again even though the thin ones were rather fragile and meant careful packing when I put them away. Might make the lemon flavored ones next time too.... so yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I have used this recipe several times now and is a complete success. Thanks for the opportunity to use it. As the holiday season approaches, the grandkids want to bake cookies for Santa, the parents ask me to make these since they must make them disappear. Love these cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Awesome recipe. However, these taste best after cooling. Eating them warm isn't good, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
This was simple, fast and delicious; And with melted dark chocolate, it was amazing. However, when I made these the dough was slightly too sticky so I just added some more flour until it became the consistency I wanted, and it turned out great. Of course the number of servings was extremely off, so a suggestion, halve the proportions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Love these! Instead of vanilla, I used lemon extract and the zest of two lemons. It gave the cookies a wonderful aroma and just a hint of lemon taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Pretty good recipe :) although I halved them seeing as everyone said it made a lot of them and I think I needed to add more sugar..however.. I dipped some in chocolate and let them dry and some I put jelly on top! Very tasty! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kylie Nicole
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Note: I see a lot of "it's tastes too much like flour/biscuits" reviews, mostly from those of us without a cookies press that end up rolling them out. This should help: Instead of rolling your dough out on a floured surface, which puts more flour than needed into the dough, simply place the dough between waxed paper. This not only eliminates the excess flour, it also makes the dough easier to work with since it doesn't stick to anything. I used this method, rolled mine out to about 1/4 inch thickness, and they turned out perfectly! I also think that some of the reviewers are confusing these with Sugar Cookies, which are much sweeter, since I saw a lot of "these are so bland" reviews. Shortbread cookies are not meant to be super-sweet, they are meant to be subtle, and in my opinion, this recipe nailed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kylie Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gatlinburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Very easy and extremely tasty! Followed the recipe exactly and they turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nikki Brown
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
First time trying these. Had to free form them since I have no cookie cutters or press. I rolled them into balls and then flating and shaped them roughly into circles. I used only 3 cups of flour instead of 4 which worked just as well. These were cakelike buttery and delicious. I really enjoyed adding different flavours and decorations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 530) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States