Shortbread Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I really wanted to Love these! I dont know where i went wrong from the beginning my dough was pretty dry and crumbly I had to add a couple more tbs of water just to get the dough workable! Taste wise they are ok at Best.I guess everyones taste buds are different.Thank you for sharing and allowing me to try your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Cookie review only. This recipe was absolutely delicious! It was my trial run for my Christmas cookies, and they were perfect. I did have to modify a bit. Here is what I did. - had trader joe wheat flour in hand. So that's what I used. Ran out of all purpose white flour. -used only Vanilla extract in lieu of rum and almond. (Didn't have those ingredients on hand) -used cheese grater as recc by another poster. -cut the recipe exactly in half. Yielded 14 large snowflake sized cookies. Buttery, but not sweet. The bleached wheat flour gave cookie a fine, grainy texture. I will frost using candy melts. I look forward to using the exact ingredients just to give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
great cookie. Thank you for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Delicious recipe...they tasted like Lorna Doone's! I'm an amateur so I wasn't sure if they were going to turn out well, but they were a hit! I even had a coworker say that it tasted like it was straight from a professional bakery!! I stuck with the recipe but cut it in half (I didn't have enough butter). The only modification I made was that I used only vanilla extract instead of the rum and almond. Also, I didn't have a "pastry cutter" so I used a cheese grater instead and it worked perfectly! I just made simple round cookies, but they would've been the perfect cookie-cutter cookie because it completely held it's shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
These cookies came out so good. The only thing I changed was that I added Hazelnut extract to them instead of the rum/almond. What a Hit these are.I rolled out a decent thickness and ended up with 5 1/2 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I did these in my Cuisinart food processor and thought "what a horrible and dry mess"....I dumped these onto a big piece of wax paper and started "working it" a tad bit and it came together so I rolled it out and chilled. I cut out the entire thing, baked and was totally tickled when I baked the BEST "no spread and no weird shaped" Christmas cookies. They cut and baked perfect and I have them frozen for decorating in another week. This was an excellent recipe so if they seem dry to you or weird KEEP THE FAITH and keep going and you will be rewarded! THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOPIEKITTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Very good, everyone liked them. A bit surprising how much time it took to make and ice them! Made as hearts for valentine's day, left some plain and iced and iced/sprinkled others. I liked the iced ones best, but I have a bit of sweet tooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I made these cookies along with gingerbread cookies and chocolate chip cookies. The shortbread cookies where a hit with my sons 5th grade class and everyone who came over for Christmas dinner. This will forever stay on my holiday menus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Junia Sonier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
These cookies are amazing!! very easy to make and extremely tasty! my family couldn't get enough of them. I would highly recommend them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Made these for youth group night and everyone loved themm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States