Short Rib and Cauliflower Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This is a great generic curry recipe for the braise king: beef short ribs. In the heat of summer, I browned the ribs over charcoal, getting a good carmelization, losing some of the fat, and adding a subtle smokey flavor. Since the chef advises tasting and adjusting flavors, the rest of the recipe is right on target. Served with an aromatic basmati rice cooked with cardamom pods and whole cloves, this was a hit with my wife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Well I forgot to take a photo because I ate them. Boyfriend and I loved the recipe. I made half the portion and had to add more coconut milk because there wasn't enough sauce. Was a good way to use cauliflower instead of potato. The aromatics stimulate your appetite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillypoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This was the first short rib recipe I ever tried, and it's still one of my favorites. I add carrots and potatoes to make it a cross between curry and beef stew. I also use curry powder, whisked into the veg oil in the recipe, instead of curry paste. This is a hit with the hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorthernLass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Oh my goodness! This was crazy good, 10 stars good. I had about 3 lbs of boneless short ribs and used Vindaloo curry powder instead of the red curry paste and this was wonderful! The only thing I may do differently next time is double the amount of sauce. I also didn't think to review the video once again before making this dish and did not cover the Dutch oven when it went into the oven (the printed recipe did not specify this detail) and my cauliflower took 15 minutes on the stovetop instead of the 5 mentioned in the recipe. I almost skipped the star anise because it smelled like liquorice, but I am so glad I stuck with the recipe as written. This is definitely a keeper and will be made often in our home. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Loved it. Had to use gravy beef as no short ribs available. Upped the curry paste. Such a tasy curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This was REALLY good. My traditional Irish family really enjoyed it - even my husband who doesn't really like cauliflower. I followed recipe exactly. If you want a spicier dish I would suggest adding more red curry paste and/or cayenne pepper. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Craig
Reviewed: May 15, 2015
This is absolutely delicious! I increased the red curry paste to one tablespoon and cut back a little on the chicken broth so I could add a whole can of coconut milk. Not difficult to make at all. A really big hit everytime I serve it! Thanks Chef John for another winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DenisedeJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sorrento, British Columbia, Canada
Photo by Sharyl
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Great way to use short ribs. Used diced tomatoes in place of the tomato paste. Enjoyed trying some new spices - star anise and garam masala. Wonderful Fall comfort food served with rice. Freezes well for future dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyl
Photo by aputler
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This made a terrific Sunday dinner! One of those recipes that makes the whole house smell good while making. Also because there is no starch, you don't feel bogged down after eating. Definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Just tried this recipe, but used a slow cooker. Added at least 3 more tablespoons of red curry for more flavor. Removed the meat. Separated the fat from the liquid. Boiled the cauliflower in the liquid for 5 minutes. Then finished reducing the liquid and added a small amount of cornstarch to thicken. Delicious and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States