Short Cut Mexican Fideo (Vermicelli) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Yum! When the noodles were about browned, I tossed in 2 cloves of garlic (minced), and 1/2 tsp of cumin to cook for a minute along with the tomato broth powder. I added a few shakes of cayenne, black pepper, and a can of diced tomatoes during along with the chicken broth. Tasty! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Outstanding and an unusual side dish. It's a cross between a soup and spaghetti. My family loves this! Thank You Amy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by SB
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This was very good. I used 1-8oz can of tomato sauce because i didnt have cubes and i added the cumin like the submitter suggested. I also added a pinch of oregano. Served with sour cream, cojita cheese, lime and tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Taste very good..just like my grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This tastes so good, I thought I was back at mom's, !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Yumm! Fixed it for lunch. Since I have gluten issues, I used a corn pasta instead. Will be doing some cooking for a big birthday party soon. With a bit of "dressing up" (corn and peas perhaps?) this will make an excellent (simple, inexpensive, and easily expandable!) side dish to the 10 chickens I will be roasting! Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SchmecktGut

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
UPDATE: Chicken-y flavor, not too tomatoey and not spicy at all. Our vermicilli fideo only comes in 5 oz packages here so I used a 26 oz box of stock and only 1 and about 2/3 the other tomato bullion cube and then simmered it until the liquid was reduced. I added a generous pinch of both ground cumin and oregano. Awesome meal! Original: Thanks Amy! I found my new favorite fideo recipe. This was great. Quick and easy to make. I used chicken boullion cubes instead of tomato and mexican tomato sauce and water for the broth. I did add some comino and topped this with sour cream and some mexican cheese blend. I snuck in a pinch of oregano too as suggested by another reviewer, thanks SB for the tip! This turned out great and I will be making this one again (and again).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Very easy and sooooo good. My kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckrisaj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
i just wanted to add that i make this also but a little different i make the fideo with tomato sauce and cumin and i also make pork chops diced up and cooked in a seprerate pan with diced jalapeno and onion and a little tomato sauce and when done put it on tortilla with little real mayo mixed with lemon juice very very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Toomey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Totally fast and delicious!! I use differeent pasta ( Stelline) and added a pinch of oregano when I added the broth. Cumin is to strong of a flavor my kids but I like it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYJEANS11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States