Short Cut Mexican Fideo (Vermicelli) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This is a great recipe when on a tight budget! Easy & good. If I have leftover chicken, I shred it & add right before the noodles are done. I also use a chicken bouillon cube and add about 1/2 can tomatoe sauce. My kids love this, esp when I add the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This was very good. I used 1-8oz can of tomato sauce because i didnt have cubes and i added the cumin like the submitter suggested. I also added a pinch of oregano. Served with sour cream, cojita cheese, lime and tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Very basic recipe and a good one. I added 1/2 tsp cumin, garlic, 1/2 cup frozen peas and 1/2 chopped tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Armywife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
UPDATE: Chicken-y flavor, not too tomatoey and not spicy at all. Our vermicilli fideo only comes in 5 oz packages here so I used a 26 oz box of stock and only 1 and about 2/3 the other tomato bullion cube and then simmered it until the liquid was reduced. I added a generous pinch of both ground cumin and oregano. Awesome meal! Original: Thanks Amy! I found my new favorite fideo recipe. This was great. Quick and easy to make. I used chicken boullion cubes instead of tomato and mexican tomato sauce and water for the broth. I did add some comino and topped this with sour cream and some mexican cheese blend. I snuck in a pinch of oregano too as suggested by another reviewer, thanks SB for the tip! This turned out great and I will be making this one again (and again).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Yum! When the noodles were about browned, I tossed in 2 cloves of garlic (minced), and 1/2 tsp of cumin to cook for a minute along with the tomato broth powder. I added a few shakes of cayenne, black pepper, and a can of diced tomatoes during along with the chicken broth. Tasty! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This is a basic Fideo recipe. Always turns out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This recipe is the closest to authentic as I have seen. Most people use water and tomato sauce here in Texas. The tomato boullion cubes are good too. Salt and pepper are a must with the tomato sauce though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This tastes so good, I thought I was back at mom's, !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
i just wanted to add that i make this also but a little different i make the fideo with tomato sauce and cumin and i also make pork chops diced up and cooked in a seprerate pan with diced jalapeno and onion and a little tomato sauce and when done put it on tortilla with little real mayo mixed with lemon juice very very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Fantastic! I used this in tandem with an old family version (the old one calls for 1 stick of butter!). I made some changes, but they were fairly minor. Great recipe, Amy! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Fresh Vietnamese Vermicelli Bowl

See how to make a super-fresh Vietnamese noodle bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States