Shoofly Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I made this recipe and the My Grandma's Shoo-Fly Pie from this site on the same day to compare. The Grandma's pie was more traditional, but I liked this recipe better. However, since there are so many wonderful desserts out there that I love, I most likely won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
We have enjoyed shoo fly pie many times at a friend’s house, and my son requested it as his “cake” for his 8th birthday yesterday. Lacking my friend’s recipe and any experience baking a SFP, I chose 2 well-regarded recipes and made Shoo Fly Pie V alongside My Grandma’s Shoo-Fly Pie and had a taste test with 8 raters ranging in age from 4 to 60. Grandma’s was the clear favorite, but could have been gooier. Let’s just say no one has asked for a slice of either leftover pie yet today. Pie V baked up like a cake (amazingly with no eggs) and the cinnamon tasted wrong in a SFP. Pie V was also a deep brown while Grandma’s had the sandy top I was expecting. I wish the recipe had more of a description of the pie at the point it should be removed from the oven. At the 30 minutes specified in the recipe, Pie V was completely liquid, so I left it in until it just jiggled a bit. Perhaps that was too long and the cause of the major texture problem and unappealingly dark color in the finished pie. Grandma’s was removed at exactly the time called for in the recipe, but again, firmed up too much as well. I’m giving Pie V 2 stars in case the error was mine; but really I’m just going to throw it out -- not worth eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe for shoofly pie. I grew up in South jersey, and we would visit Lancaster County, PA every year. While there, my main target had always been a shoofly pie. This recipe is a breeze to make, and comes as close as I can remember. If you like a dry bottom pie (as opposed to a wet bottom), just cut back on the liquids. You can't go wrong on this recipe. I made it for the first time for Thanksgiving, and it turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I altered the recipe a little (combined it with another high rated recipe here). It turned out beautiful! Definately a keeper! Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
This was a big hit, even with my mother who claims to dislike shoofly pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReiGuzu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This is one of my favorites! I made it last summer for a family get together and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shy31002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Carrboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I have tried making this pie three different times. It just comes out tasting like flour, it's not very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belle Chasse, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I had never made nor eaten a Shoofly PIe, but I am a molasses fiend so wanted to try this. I really researched all the recipes for Shoofly Pie trying to find an authentic recipe. It was delicious! This pie is really molasses-y, gooey and rich. My pie did not set up well like the photo; it was runny even after cooking for longer than the recipe stated. However, my son and I inhaled this pie within a few days by ourselves!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.Michael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I've made this about five or six times and each time it gets rave reviews from family and friends alike. It was a huge hit with my Vietnamese neighbors on the 4th of July at our yearly block party. Definately one of my favorite desserts too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Canada, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
I'm sorry to be the one to give it a bad rating... I have never given anything on this site a poor rating... I usually just don't rate, but I was really craving shoo-fly pie, and I was so disappointed with this one. I ended up throwing it out after one slice. It could be an okay pie, but I don't consider this shoo-fly pie. I think the best recipe on this site is Grandma's shoo-fly pie (you have to hyphenate the shoo-fly to find it on this site). It uses shortening instead of butter and an egg. The consistency is not right, and neither is the crumb topping. I'm from Lancaster, too, and I've never had a shoo-fly pie with this consistency before. Guess I'll be back in the kitchen making a different one tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Point, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States