Shoofly Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
WoW! If I could give this ten stars I would. This is soo good. Better than any other Shoofly pie I've ever had. One of the best pies I've ever made. This will definitely be a regular for the holidays. I would suggest cutting back on the crumb mixture, I had a ton left over. Also, I sprinkled a cinnamon/clove mixture generously on top of the pie before I baked it. Thank you for sharing Karen, I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Photo by Ruth
Reviewed: May 30, 2008
This is simply the BEST Shoo-fly pie. Don't look any further! I use butter instead of shortening in the crumb mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This recipe was a dream to make. Everything came together so easy. I ran about a 1/8 of a cup short on molasses so I added some corn syrup. My husband is from PA and he said it was perfect. Great recipe will continue to make it for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Really good. A little gooey-er than I'm used to, but not runny and holds its shape fine when cut. The molasses flavor is just about perfect and the crumb topping is gorgeous. One star off, because I'd prefer it a little dryer, but otherwise, it's excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IronChefHarvey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sticky
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
From what I've observed all of the shoo fly recipes are highly dependent upon the timing and freshness of the baking powder and the proportion of dry crumb, cake and wet bottom you get. Baking powder pops to life at 450. Alternating layers of crumb and wet,adding the baking powder 3 minutes and whisking in to the wet ingredients before pouring into the pie shell resulted in a nice cake layer with a scant 1/8" of goo and a nice 1/8" of dry crumb on top. I used 1tsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp all of the other spices but that's my personal preference. Baking time and temp was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sticky

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
The only thing I did not like about this recipe is the pie has a stronger than expected prominent taste of molassas. I reccomment cutting the amount of molassas down by 1/3. Otherwise I loved this recipe. Great texture, super easy to make, a real crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave's wife

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Funny how cooks can have such widely ranging experiences by following a recipe EXACTLY as presented. After baking and allowing the pie to cool overnight, I cut into it the next day, only to find a runny pool of slop. What I ended up with bore no resemblance to the picture, and believe me, I couldn't scrape it down the garbage disposal fast enough. I have been cooking for 40 years and have made virtually every sort of dish imaginable, so I am not a novice in the kitchen. Thus, I can only attribute the positive reviews of this catastrophe of a recipe to the fact that some people have far different standards for food than I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States