Shoepeg Corn Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I was given this recipe years ago by Beverly Painter of Blue Ridge, GA - who made this for us one night, and I was so excited to find it online here. After reading the other reviewers comments, I used sharp cheddar, 2 cans of green beans, and 4 oz sour cream. Other than that, I made it according to the recipe. This came out of the oven with a nice taste - and raves from my picky family. Thanks for sharing... For next time, I would probably cook the onion, celery, and green bell pepper, prior to mixing the rest of the casserole together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
This is a family favorite. I use only 1/2 cup of sour cream and for the topping use crushed cheese crackers mixed with a small bag of slivered blanched almonds mixed into the butter. Watch the salt because the cheese crackers are salty. Also use sharp cheese. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
This is so yummy! The only change I make is to use all white corn and no green beans. I have made this for a few years now at all family events and passed the recipe on to many. Family favorite for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
This was pretty good, but the veggie amounts listed in the recipie were a bit sparse. I nearly doubled them all and added onions and garlic. I also mixed sliced almonds in to add some texture and used them as the topping. They added a great crunch (not to mention the health benefits) and browned very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I've been using this recipe for years. We LOVE it!!! I usually use 3 cans of shoepeg corn, but sometimes I use two regular sized cans of yellow corn. I also use a sharper cheese and crushed Cheezit crackers. It's very easy to make and really yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallassee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This is my Green Bean Casserole recipe minus the fresh veggies and add 2 additional cans of green beans. Sometimes I use Frenchs Fried onions on top instead of Ritz Crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
I made this for a Sunday dinner. The corn stayed crispy. I was very surprised, because I usually don't purchase canned vegetables. My husband love this recipe and I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2001
This was bland and needed a variety of spices to give it more flavor. Also, all the measurements were off when scaled to 4 servings so that if you were using fresh or frozen vegetables it was hard to compare with canned vegetable measurements. I don't buy anything in a can when the fresh produce section is an aisle away! Still it could be doctored enough to repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I got this recipe years ago from the mother of a close friend, and it has been a family favorite ever since. This is the best recipe, not at all bland; however, I do use sharp cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LECHEFRENE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
Oh my gosh this was delish. I made this last night and I reallllyyyy wish I had some leftovers to eat for lunch. It was creamy and so flavorful. I tweaked the recipe a little bit because i had one big chile in adobo to use up so i cut it up and threw it in. SO good. I made it tangy and zesty. Loved this recipe, will be making it for thanksgiving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States