Shoepeg Corn Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2001
This was bland and needed a variety of spices to give it more flavor. Also, all the measurements were off when scaled to 4 servings so that if you were using fresh or frozen vegetables it was hard to compare with canned vegetable measurements. I don't buy anything in a can when the fresh produce section is an aisle away! Still it could be doctored enough to repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
I made this for a Sunday dinner. The corn stayed crispy. I was very surprised, because I usually don't purchase canned vegetables. My husband love this recipe and I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I thought it would be great, but my family didn't care for it. Very bland tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
Very good, very tasty, very easy. A great fall/winter dish (though I made it for the first time in the summer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Croton On Hudson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a HIT. I used the bigger can of shoepeg corn, and still it was a little soupy, I'm going to try an extra can of green beans next time. But, this is definitely a new family favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
My family and I like this recipe very much. I have made it several times and it has been a very nice addition to each meal. So far everyone who has tried it wants the recipe and I never have any leftover, which makes my husband not happy! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
This recipe has been used in my family for almost 30 Years!It came from my grandmother and because it looks a little funny (since everything is all mixed together with sour cream and creamed soup) we started calling it, "UGLY CASSEROLE"! It is a staple for our family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
This is a family favorite. I use only 1/2 cup of sour cream and for the topping use crushed cheese crackers mixed with a small bag of slivered blanched almonds mixed into the butter. Watch the salt because the cheese crackers are salty. Also use sharp cheese. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
I love this! It's easy and very tasty. I don't know why someone said it was bland; it was perfect to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
This was pretty good, but the veggie amounts listed in the recipie were a bit sparse. I nearly doubled them all and added onions and garlic. I also mixed sliced almonds in to add some texture and used them as the topping. They added a great crunch (not to mention the health benefits) and browned very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States