Shoepeg Corn Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I ate this at a July 4 barbeque over 10 years ago, and now I make it every year! I think it goes well with summer foods as well. Thanks for the recipe--I just moved and mine is packed away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keene, Texas, USA
Living In: Clifton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
i love this recipe. my family asks me to make this for every holiday, and it sounded so odd, i needed to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oyster Bay, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I got this recipe years ago from the mother of a close friend, and it has been a family favorite ever since. This is the best recipe, not at all bland; however, I do use sharp cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LECHEFRENE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
This was pretty good, but the veggie amounts listed in the recipie were a bit sparse. I nearly doubled them all and added onions and garlic. I also mixed sliced almonds in to add some texture and used them as the topping. They added a great crunch (not to mention the health benefits) and browned very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
I love this! It's easy and very tasty. I don't know why someone said it was bland; it was perfect to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
This is a family favorite. I use only 1/2 cup of sour cream and for the topping use crushed cheese crackers mixed with a small bag of slivered blanched almonds mixed into the butter. Watch the salt because the cheese crackers are salty. Also use sharp cheese. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
This recipe has been used in my family for almost 30 Years!It came from my grandmother and because it looks a little funny (since everything is all mixed together with sour cream and creamed soup) we started calling it, "UGLY CASSEROLE"! It is a staple for our family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
My family and I like this recipe very much. I have made it several times and it has been a very nice addition to each meal. So far everyone who has tried it wants the recipe and I never have any leftover, which makes my husband not happy! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a HIT. I used the bigger can of shoepeg corn, and still it was a little soupy, I'm going to try an extra can of green beans next time. But, this is definitely a new family favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
Very good, very tasty, very easy. A great fall/winter dish (though I made it for the first time in the summer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Croton On Hudson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States