Shoepeg Corn Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
My taste buds were so happy with this! I sauteed the onion and celery prior to baking since we don't like crunchy onions. Then added some cracked black pepper. Went well with steak and salad. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This was good, but next time I make it I will 'tweak it' a bit. The chopped veggies were still a little too crunchy so I would saute those before mixing with the rest. Use more corn and some seasoning...and a sharp cheddar, it was a tad bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Very tasty! I use carrots instead of celery and serve it over pasta or rice to make it the main course. This has become a regular in our house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Wow! I needed to make a casserole for work. This was a fabulous choice. For the record, I am not a casserole-lover. I was one of those kids who did not like her foods to touch. But I took one for the team and offered to make a casserole. It was a hit at work. It was MOIST, but not runny. The cracker crust was FABULOUS. When making it, I did not follow the recipe exactly, because 1) when I sent my hubby to store, he brought back low sodium cream of celery; 2) I only had sharp cheddar, so that's what I used; and I prefer kitchen cut g. beans over french cut (I have issues). As far as I can tell, none of that matter. If I had followed the recipe exactly, I can't imagine it being much better. It was one of the few dishes that disappeared immediately at our office potluck. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
yummy! This is a nice twist to a greenbean casserole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This was absolute comfort food. Excellent taste. I added more of the veggies (I bought frozen rather than canned beans/corn) and put both whole packages in. Added some extra soup/sour cream to compensate. Just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb2887
Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Albion, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Very good casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
My family has been making this recipe for years (although we eliminate the chopped celery) ... I've never taken it to a potluck without raves and recipe requests. For a variation, try substituting diced green chili for the bell pepper (canned is fine). YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Since I'm not a lover of celery or green beens, I substituted those two with diced potatoes. All the other ingredients worked really well in this recipe. I got so many compliments for it today! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinArabesque

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Added more onion and celery than recipe called for and substituted with cream of mushroom (all i had in my cupboard) non the less, this came out very good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States