Shoepeg Corn Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Wow! I needed to make a casserole for work. This was a fabulous choice. For the record, I am not a casserole-lover. I was one of those kids who did not like her foods to touch. But I took one for the team and offered to make a casserole. It was a hit at work. It was MOIST, but not runny. The cracker crust was FABULOUS. When making it, I did not follow the recipe exactly, because 1) when I sent my hubby to store, he brought back low sodium cream of celery; 2) I only had sharp cheddar, so that's what I used; and I prefer kitchen cut g. beans over french cut (I have issues). As far as I can tell, none of that matter. If I had followed the recipe exactly, I can't imagine it being much better. It was one of the few dishes that disappeared immediately at our office potluck. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
yummy! This is a nice twist to a greenbean casserole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This was absolute comfort food. Excellent taste. I added more of the veggies (I bought frozen rather than canned beans/corn) and put both whole packages in. Added some extra soup/sour cream to compensate. Just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb2887
Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Albion, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Very good casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
My family has been making this recipe for years (although we eliminate the chopped celery) ... I've never taken it to a potluck without raves and recipe requests. For a variation, try substituting diced green chili for the bell pepper (canned is fine). YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Since I'm not a lover of celery or green beens, I substituted those two with diced potatoes. All the other ingredients worked really well in this recipe. I got so many compliments for it today! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinArabesque

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Added more onion and celery than recipe called for and substituted with cream of mushroom (all i had in my cupboard) non the less, this came out very good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I should have added less sour cream like some of the reviews said. It was way too saucy. Good flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Didn't love it, even though I've made similar recipes before and liked them. My kids and husband really didn't care for it either, so I won't be making it again! May be just personal preference--sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYDANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I have made this casserole for years. It's one of my most requested recipes. I even had a relative call me years after eating it to ask for the recipe. We have it for all holidays and family gatherings. I use half the amount of sour cream unless I'm doubling the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickentarian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States